Wepruk v. Treasury Board (Department of Health)



Public Service Labour Relations
and Employment Board Act and
Public Service Labour Relations Act

Coat of Arms - Armoiries
  • Date:  20170217
  • File:  566-02-10988, 10989, 10992 and 10993
  • Citation:  2017 PSLREB 19

Before a panel of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board


BETWEEN

SHELLEY WEPRUK

Grievor

and

TREASURY BOARD
(Department of Health)

and

DEPUTY HEAD
(Department of Health)

Respondents

Indexed as
Wepruk v. Treasury Board (Department of Health)


In the matter of individual grievances referred to adjudication


Before:
Steven B. Katkin, a panel of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board
For the Grievor:
Patricia Deol, counsel
For the Respondents:
Shawna Noseworthy and Richard Fader, counsel
Decided on the basis of written submissions,
filed January 13, 20, and 27, 2017.

REASONS FOR DECISION

I. Isssue before the Board

1        Shelley Wepruk (“the grievor”) was employed as a border integrity specialist in the inspectorate program of the Department of Health (“the employer”) located in Burnaby, British Columbia. The grievor filed eight grievances against the employer, including about the termination of her employment. The nature of those grievances is set out in an earlier interim decision concerning certain jurisdictional issues relating to those grievances; see Wepruk v. Treasury Board and Deputy Head (Department of Health), 2016 PSLREB 55.

2        This is an interim decision dealing with an objection raised by the grievor to the admissibility in the adjudication proceedings before me of a transcript of her testimony before the Social Security Tribunal (SST) and the SST’s decision on her eligibility for employment insurance benefits, which documents I have not seen. The objection is based on an alleged prohibition in the Department of Employment and Social Development Act (S.C. 2005, c. 34; DESDA).

3        On November 1, 2014, the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board Act (S.C. 2013, c. 40, s. 365; PSLREBA) was proclaimed into force (SI/2014-84), creating the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (“the Board”) to replace the former Public Service Labour Relations Board as well as the former Public Service Staffing Tribunal. On the same day, the consequential and transitional amendments contained in sections 366 to 466 of the Economic Action Plan 2013 Act, No. 2 (S.C. 2013, c. 40) also came into force (SI/2014-84). Pursuant to section 393 of the Economic Action Plan 2013 Act, No. 2, a proceeding commenced under the Public Service Labour Relations Act (S.C. 2003, c. 22, s. 2) before November 1, 2014, is to be taken up and continue under and in conformity with the Public Service Labour Relations Act as it is amended by sections 365 to 470 of the Economic Action Plan 2013 Act, No. 2.

II. Arguments of the parties

4        The written submissions of the parties are annexed to this decision.

III. Reasons

5        The issue to be addressed is whether the DESDA prohibits the admissibility, in the adjudication proceedings before me, of the transcript of the grievor’s testimony before the SST and of the SST’s decision concerning her eligibility for employment insurance benefits.

6        For the purpose of this analysis, it is useful to set out the relevant statutory framework.

7        Section 42 of the DESDA contains as follows a prohibition against using and allowing the use of information protected under Part 4 of the DESDA, which is titled “Protection of Personal Information”:

42 (1) Every person or body commits an offence if they knowingly make available information that is privileged under this Part, or knowingly use or allow such information to be used, otherwise than in accordance with this Part or subsection 28.2(5) or (6), or a condition or agreement referred to

(a) in subsection 33(2) or any of sections 35, 36, 36.2 and 38 of this Act;

(b) in section 104.1 or 105 of the Canada Pension Plan; or

(c) in section 39 of the Old Age Security Act.

8        Section 31 of the DESDA states as follows the purpose of Part 4 of that Act:

31 This Part sets out the rules that apply to the protection and the making available of information that is obtained by the Minister or the Commission under a program or prepared from that information. This Part also sets out principles for the use of information for research purposes.

9        Thus, section 31 refers to the rules that apply to the protection of and access to information obtained by the minister or the Commission under a program. Several of those terms are defined in the DESDA.

10        The term “information” is defined as follows in s. 30(1):

30 (1) The following definitions apply in this Part.

information means personal information as defined in section 3 of the Privacy Act, except that the portion of that definition between paragraphs (i) and (j) shall be read as “but, for the purposes of this Part, does not include”. (renseignements)

[Emphasis in the original]

11        “Minister” is defined as follows in s. 2:

2 The following definitions apply in this Act.

Minister means the Minister of Employment and Social Development. (ministre)

[Emphasis in the original]

12        However, for the purposes of Part 4, s. 30(2) provides as follows:

30 (2) For the purposes of this Part, a reference to the Minister includes the Minister of Labour in respect of any program, legislation, policy or activity the administration or enforcement of which is the responsibility of the Minister of Labour.

13        The term “Commission” is defined in s. 2 as follows:

Commission means the Canada Employment Insurance Commission continued by section 20. (Commission)

[Emphasis in the original]

14        Lastly, the term “program” is defined in s. 30(1) as follows:

program, except in subsection (2), means any program the administration or enforcement of which is the responsibility of the Minister or the Commission and includes any legislation, policy or activity the administration or enforcement of which is their responsibility. (programme)

[Emphasis in the original]

15        The above-cited provisions state that the purpose of Part 4 of the DESDA is to protect personal information obtained by the Minister of Employment and Social Development or the Minister of Labour under a program administered or enforced under the responsibilities of those ministers or obtained by the Canada Employment Insurance Commission under a program administered or enforced under its responsibility.

16        The transcript of the grievor’s testimony before the SST and the SST’s decision concerning her eligibility for employment insurance benefits do not contain information mentioned in s. 31 of the DESDA. Rather, they contain information the SST obtained within the administration of proceedings before it.

17        The SST is clearly established under Part 5 of the DESDA as an entity independent of the Minister of Employment and Social Development, the Minister of Labour and of the Canada Employment Insurance Commission.

18        In support of her arguments, the grievor relied on the arbitration award in Pacific Inland Resources v. Northern Interior Woodworkers Assn., Local 1 (2011), 105 C.L.A.S. 271. However, that award did not consider whether information obtained by the SST within the administration of proceedings before it is protected under Part 4 of the DESDA.

19        Further, in Pacific Inland Resources, it is clear that the documents at issue contained information obtained by the Canada Employment Insurance Commission under a program as defined under s. 30(1) of the DESDA. Accordingly, that decision is distinguishable from the circumstances of the issue before me.

20        Therefore, I find that Part 4 of the DESDA does not prohibit the admissibility, in the adjudication proceedings before me, of the transcript of the grievor’s testimony before the SST.

21        I further find that nothing prohibits the admissibility of those parts of the SST’s decision concerning her eligibility for employment insurance benefits that do not contain information obtained by the Minister of Employment and Social Development or the Minister of Labour under a program administered or enforced under the responsibilities of those ministers, or obtained by the Canada Employment Insurance Commission under a program administered or enforced under its responsibility.

22        The employer argued that if I find that Part 4 of the DESDA does not apply, then s. 8(2)(d) of the Privacy Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. P-21; PA) permits the disclosure, for use in the proceedings before me, of the transcript of the grievor’s testimony before the SST and the SST’s decision concerning her eligibility for benefits. That provision reads as follows:

8 (2) Subject to any other Act of Parliament, personal information under the control of a government institution may be disclosed

(d) to the Attorney General of Canada for use in legal proceedings involving the Crown in right of Canada or the Government of Canada …

23        I need not consider that provision to determine whether the SST transcript and decision should be disclosed in the adjudication proceedings before me. Under s. 20(e) of the PSLREBA, the Board has the power to accept any evidence, whether admissible in a court of law or not. In addition, s. 20(f) allows the Board to compel any person to produce documents that may be relevant to a proceeding. Furthermore, the PA does not limit the powers of the Board to manage evidence in adjudication hearings; see Tipple v. Deputy Head (Department of Public Works and Government Services), 2010 PSLRB 83; and Sather v. Deputy Head (Correctional Service of Canada), 2013 PSLRB 95.

24        Any other objection that may be raised with respect to the admissibility of the transcript of the grievor’s testimony before the SST and the SST’s decision concerning her eligibility for employment insurance benefits will be dealt with at the resumption of the hearing.

25        For all of the above reasons, the Board makes the following order:

IV. Order

26        The objection to the admissibility of the transcript of the grievor’s testimony before the Social Security Tribunal is dismissed.

27        The objection to the admissibility of the Social Security Tribunal’s decision concerning the grievor’s eligibility for employment insurance benefits is allowed only with regard to any information that may be contained therein that was obtained by the Minister of Employment and Social Development, the Minister of Labour, or the Canada Employment Insurance Commission under a program for which they are responsible. I order the respondents to prepare copies of the Social Security Tribunal’s decision redacting the said information.

February 17, 2017.

Steven B. Katkin,
a panel of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board

Wepruk c. Conseil du Trésor (ministère de la Santé)



Loi sur la Commission des relations
de travail et de l’emploi dans la
fonction publique et
Loi sur les relations de travail
dans la fonction publique

Coat of Arms - Armoiries
  • Date:  20170217
  • Dossier:  566-02-10988, 10989, 10992 et 10993
  • Référence:  2017 CRTEFP 19

Devant une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique


ENTRE

SHELLEY WEPRUK

fonctionnaire s'estimant lésée

et

CONSEIL DU TRÉSOR
(ministère de la Santé)

et

ADMINISTRATEUR GÉNÉRAL
(ministère de la Santé)

défendeurs

Répertorié
Wepruk c. Conseil du Trésor (ministère de la Santé)


Affaire concernant des griefs individuels renvoyés à l’arbitrage


Devant:
Steven B. Katkin, une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique
Pour la fonctionnaire s'estimant lésée:
Patricia Deol, avocate
Pour les défendeurs:
Shawna Noseworthy et Richard Fader, avocats
Décision rendue sur la base d’arguments écrits,
déposés les 13, 20 et 27 janvier 2017.
(Traduction de la CRTEFP)

MOTIFS DE DÉCISION

I. Question devant la Commission

1        Shelley Wepruk, la fonctionnaire s’estimant lésée (la « fonctionnaire »), était employée à titre de spécialiste de l’intégrité des frontières au programme de l’Inspectorat du ministère de la Santé (l’« employeur ») à Burnaby, en Colombie-Britannique. La fonctionnaire a déposé huit griefs contre l’employeur, y compris sur la cessation de son emploi. La nature de ces griefs est présentée dans une décision provisoire précédente concernant certaines questions de compétence relatives à ces griefs; voir Wepruk c. Conseil du Trésor (ministère de la Santé), 2016 CRTEFP 55.

2        La présente est une décision provisoire relative à l’objection, présentée par la fonctionnaire à l’admissibilité à la procédure d’arbitrage de griefs devant moi, d’une transcription de son témoignage devant le Tribunal de la sécurité sociale (TSS) et de la décision du TSS relative à son admissibilité aux prestations d’assurance-emploi, documents que je n’ai pas vus. L’objection est fondée sur une interdiction prétendue prévue par la Loi sur le ministère de l’Emploi et du Développement social (L.C. 2005, ch. 34, LMEDS).

3        Le 1er novembre 2014, la Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (L.C. 2013, ch. 40, art. 365; LCRTEFP) a été proclamée en vigueur (TR/2014-84) et a créé la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (la « Commission »), qui remplace la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique et le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique. Le même jour, les modifications corrélatives et transitoires édictées par les articles 366 à 466 de la Loi no 2 sur le plan d’action économique de 2013 (L.C. 2013, ch. 40) sont aussi entrées en vigueur (TR/2014-84). En vertu de l’article 393 de la Loi no 2 sur le plan d’action économique de 2013, une instance engagée au titre de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique (L.C. 2003, ch. 22, art. 2) avant le 1er novembre 2014 se poursuit sans autres formalités en conformité avec la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique, dans sa forme modifiée par les articles 365 à 470 de la Loi no 2 sur le plan d’action économique de 2013.

II. Argumentation des parties

4        Les arguments écrits des parties sont annexés à la présente décision.

III. Motifs

5        La question à trancher est de savoir si la LMEDS interdit d’admettre à la procédure d’arbitrage de griefs devant moi une transcription du témoignage de la fonctionnaire devant le TSS et la décision du TSS relative à son admissibilité aux prestations d’assurance-emploi.

6        Aux fins de cette analyse, il est utile de présenter le cadre réglementaire pertinent.

7        L’article 42 de la LMEDS comprend comme suit une interdiction d’utiliser ou de permettre que soient utilisés les renseignements protégés par la partie 4 de la LMEDS, intitulée « Protection des renseignements personnels ».

42 (1) Commet une infraction quiconque, sciemment, rend accessibles, utilise ou permet que soient utilisés des renseignements protégés par la présente partie contrairement à celle-ci ou aux paragraphes 28.2(5) ou (6), ou contrairement aux conditions ou accords visés, selon le cas, aux dispositions ci-après :

a) le paragraphe 33(2) ou les articles 35, 36, 36.2 et 38 de la présente loi;

b) les articles 104.1 ou 105 du Régime de pensions du Canada;

c) l’article 39 de la Loi sur la sécurité de la vieillesse.

8        L’article 31 de la LMEDS stipule comme suit l’objet de la partie 4 de cette Loi :

31 La présente partie édicte les règles de protection et d’accessibilité des renseignements obtenus par le ministre ou la Commission dans le cadre d’un programme ou tirés de tels renseignements sous son régime; elle prévoit également des principes relatifs à l’utilisation de renseignements à des fins de recherche.

9        Par conséquent, l’article 31 fait référence à la règle qui s’applique à la protection des renseignements obtenus par le ministre ou par la Commission dans le cadre d’un programme, et à l’accès à ces renseignements. Plusieurs de ces termes sont définis dans la LMEDS.

10        Le terme « renseignements » est défini en ces termes au paragraphe 30(1) :

30 (1) Les définitions qui suivent s’appliquent à la présente partie.

[…]

renseignements S’entend de renseignements personnels au sens de l’article 3 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le passage figurant entre les alinéas i) et j) de la définition étant réputé être ainsi libellé : « toutefois, il demeure entendu que, pour l’application de la présente partie, les renseignements ne comprennent pas les renseignements concernant : ». (information)

[Le passage en évidence l’est dans l’original]

11        Le terme « ministre » est défini en ces termes à l’article 2 :

2 Les définitions qui suivent s’appliquent à la présente loi.

ministre Le ministre de l’Emploi et du Développement social. (Minister)

[Le passage en évidence l’est dans l’original]

12        Cependant, aux fins de la partie 4, le paragraphe 30(2) prévoit ce qui suit :

30 (2) Pour l’application de la présente partie, toute mention du ministre vaut mention du ministre du Travail pour ce qui est des programmes, des lois, des politiques ou des activités dont la mise en œuvre ou l’exécution relèvent de lui.

13        Le terme « Commission » est défini de la manière suivante à l’article 2 :

Commission La Commission de l’assurance-emploi du Canada maintenue par l’article 20. (Commission)

[Le passage en évidence l’est dans l’original]

14        Finalement, le terme « programme » est défini au paragraphe 30(1) comme suit :

programme Sauf au paragraphe (2), s’entend de tout programme dont la mise en œuvre ou l’exécution relèvent du ministre ou de la Commission; y sont assimilées les lois, politiques ou activités dont la mise en œuvre ou l’exécution relèvent de l’un ou de l’autre. (program)

[Le passage en évidence l’est dans l’original]

15        Les définitions susmentionnées précisent que l’objet de la partie 4 de la LMEDS est de protéger les renseignements personnels obtenus par le ministre de l’Emploi et du Développement social et le ministre du Travail dans le cadre d’un programme administré ou appliqué dans le contexte des responsabilités de ces ministres ou obtenus par la Commission de l’assurance-emploi du Canada dans le cadre d’un programme administré ou appliqué dans le contexte de ses responsabilités.

16        La transcription du témoignage de la fonctionnaire devant le TSS et la décision du TSS relative à son admissibilité aux prestations d’assurance-emploi ne contiennent pas de renseignements mentionnés à l’article 31 de la LMEDS. Ils contiennent plutôt des renseignements que le TSS a obtenus lors de l’administration de la procédure devant lui.

17        Le TSS est clairement constitué en vertu de la partie 5 de la LMEDS en tant qu’entité indépendante du ministre de l’Emploi et du Développement social, du ministre du Travail et de la Commission de l’assurance-emploi du Canada.

18        Pour soutenir ses arguments, la fonctionnaire s’est fiée sur la décision arbitrale rendue dans Pacific Inland Resources v. Northern Interior Woodworkers Assn., Local 1 (2011), 105 C.L.A.S. 271. Cependant, la décision n’a pas pris en considération la question de savoir si les renseignements obtenus par le TSS dans le cadre de l’administration de la procédure devant lui sont protégés en vertu de la partie 4 de la LMEDS.

19        De plus, dans Pacific Inland Resources, il est clair que les documents en cause contenaient des renseignements obtenus par la Commission de l’assurance-emploi du Canada dans le cadre d’un programme, de la manière définie par le paragraphe 30(1) de la LMEDS. En conséquence, cette décision se distingue de la situation de la question devant moi.

20        Par conséquent, j’estime que la partie 4 de la LMEDS n’interdit pas d’admettre, dans le cadre de la procédure d’arbitrage de griefs devant moi, la transcription du témoignage de la fonctionnaire devant le TSS.

21        Je conclus également que rien n’interdit d’admettre ces parties de la décision du TSS relatives à son admissibilité aux prestations d’assurance-emploi qui ne contiennent pas de renseignements obtenus par le ministre de l’Emploi et du Développement social et le ministre du Travail dans le cadre d’un programme administré ou appliqué dans le contexte des responsabilités de ces ministres ou obtenus par la Commission de l’assurance-emploi du Canada dans le cadre d’un programme administré ou appliqué dans le contexte de ses responsabilités.

22        L’employeur a soutenu que, si je devais conclure que la partie 4 de la LMEDS ne s’applique pas, alors l’alinéa 8(2)d) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (L.R.C. (1985), ch. P-21; LPRP) permet la divulgation, aux fins d’utilisation dans le cadre de la procédure devant moi, de la transcription du témoignage de la fonctionnaire devant le TSS et de la décision du TSS relative à son admissibilité aux prestations. Cette disposition est rédigée en ces termes :

8 (2) Sous réserve d’autres lois fédérales, la communication des renseignements personnels qui relèvent d’une institution fédérale est autorisée dans les cas suivants :

[…]

d) communication au procureur général du Canada pour usage dans des poursuites judiciaires intéressant la Couronne du chef du Canada ou le gouvernement fédéral; […]

23        Je n’ai pas besoin de tenir compte de cette disposition afin de déterminer si la transcription du TSS et sa décision doivent être divulguées dans le cadre de la procédure d’arbitrage des griefs devant moi. Conformément à l’alinéa 20e) de la LCRTEFP, la Commission a le pouvoir d’accepter tout élément de preuve, qu’il soit admissible ou non en justice. De plus, l’alinéa 20f) permet à la Commission d’obliger toute personne à produire les documents qui peuvent être liés à une procédure. En outre, la LPRP ne limite pas les pouvoirs de la Commission de gérer les éléments de preuve lors d’audiences d’arbitrage; voir Tipple c. Administrateur général (ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux), 2010 CRTFP 83; et Sather c. Administrateur général (Service correctionnel du Canada), 2013 CRTFP 95.

24        Toute autre objection qui pourrait être formulée à l’égard de l’admissibilité de la transcription du témoignage de la fonctionnaire devant le TSS et de la décision du TSS relative à son admissibilité aux prestations d’assurance-emploi sera traitée à la reprise de l’audience.

25        Pour ces motifs, la Commission rend l’ordonnance qui suit :

IV. Ordonnance

26        L’objection à l’admissibilité de la transcription du témoignage de la fonctionnaire devant le Tribunal de la sécurité sociale est rejetée.

27        L’objection à l’admissibilité de la décision du Tribunal de la sécurité sociale relative à l’admissibilité de la fonctionnaire aux prestations d’assurance-emploi est admise, uniquement en ce qui concerne tout renseignement qui peut y être contenu, qui a été obtenu par le ministre de l’Emploi et du Développement social, le ministre du Travail ou la Commission de l’assurance-emploi du Canada dans le cadre d’un programme dont ils sont responsables. J’ordonne aux défendeurs de préparer des exemplaires de la décision du Tribunal de la sécurité sociale dont ces renseignements seront retirés.

Le 17 février 2017.

Traduction de la CRTEFP

Steven B. Katkin,
une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique