Cianciarelli v. Treasury Board (Department of the Environment)



Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board Act and Public Service Labour Relations Act

Coat of Arms - Armoiries
  • Date:  20170412
  • File:  566-02-8948
  • Citation:  2017 PSLREB 32

Before a panel of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board


BETWEEN

DOMINIC CIANCIARELLI

Grievor

and

TREASURY BOARD
(Department of the Environment)

Employer

Indexed as
Cianciarelli v. Treasury Board (Department of the Environment)


In the matter of an individual grievance referred to adjudication


Before:
Michael F. McNamara, a panel of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board
For the Grievor:
Sarah Godwin, employment relations officer, Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
For the Employer:
Jenna-Dawn Shervill, articling student, and Michel Girard, counsel
Heard at Ottawa Ontario,
September 9, 2015.

REASONS FOR DECISION

I. Individual grievance referred to adjudication

1                  The grievor, Dominic Cianciarelli, was a long-term public service employee. In 2012, he was classified at the ENG-5 group and level with Environment Canada and was a member of the Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada (PIPSC). His position was deemed surplus under s. 64 of the Public Service Employment Act (S.C. 2003, c. 22, ss. 12, 13). As such, he became subject to the workforce adjustment agreement (WFA) between the PIPSC and the Treasury Board.

2        Of the options available to the grievor via the WFA, he chose to retire and to receive a lump-sum payment, which is referred to in the WFA as a “Transition Support Measure” (TSM). He asked the employer to pay his TSM over two calendar years, to reduce the tax consequences. His request was denied.

3        On March 4, 2013, the grievor filed a grievance, which was referred to adjudication before the former Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) on August 28, 2013.

4        On November 1, 2014, the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board Act (S.C. 2013, c. 40, s. 365) was proclaimed into force, creating the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (“the Board”) to replace the former PSLRB and the former Public Service Staffing Tribunal. The Board continues the work of the PSLRB; consequently, this decision is being rendered by a panel of the Board.

5        This adjudication raises the following issue: Is the grievor entitled to receive the payment of his TSM under the WFA in two lump sums over two calendar years, as he requested?

6        In my view, in these circumstances, he is, and accordingly, I allow the grievance.

II. Background

7        The options available to the grievor are set out in clause 6.3.1 of the WFA, which is found at Appendix G of the Architecture, Engineering, and Land Survey collective agreement between the PIPSC and the Treasury Board (expiry date: September 30, 2014; “the collective agreement”). They are as follows:

6.3.1  Only opting employees who are not in receipt of the guarantee of a reasonable job offer from the deputy head will have access to the choice of options below:

  •           (a)    
    • (i) Twelve-month surplus priority period in which to secure a reasonable job offer. Should a reasonable job offer not be made within a period of twelve months, the employee will be laid off in accordance with the Public Service Employment Act. Employees who choose or are deemed to have chosen this option are surplus employees.
  •           or
  •           (b) Transition Support Measure (TSM) is a cash payment, based on the employee’s years of service in the public service (see Appendix B) made to an opting employee. Employees choosing this option must resign but will be considered to be laid off for purposes of severance pay;
  •           or
  •           (c) Education Allowance is a Transitional Support measure (see Option (b) above) plus an amount of not more than $10,000 for reimbursement of receipted expenses of an opting employee for tuition from a learning institution and costs of books and mandatory equipment.
  • Employees choosing Option (c) could either:
    • (i) resign from the Core Public Administration but be considered to be laid off for severance pay purposes on the date of their departure;
    • or
    • (ii) delay their departure date and go on leave without pay for a maximum period of two years, while attending the learning institution. The TSM shall be paid in one or two lump-sum amounts, at the employee’s request over a maximum two-year period. During this period, employees could continue to be public service benefit plan members and contribute both employer and employee share to the benefits plans and the Public Service Superannuation Plan. At the end of the two-year leave without pay period, unless the employee has found alternate employment in the Core Public Administration, the employee will be laid off in accordance with the Public Service Employment Act.

8        In a nutshell, the options in clause 6.3.1(b) (“option (b)”) and 6.3.1(c)(i) (“option (c)(i)”) are silent with respect to paying the TSM in instalments. The option in clause 6.3.1(c)(ii) (“option (c)(ii)”) specifically indicates that the payment can be done in one or two lump sums.

9        On June 5, 2012, the grievor selected option (c)(i).

10        In February 2013, he requested that his TSM be paid over two calendar years.

11        On March 29, 2013, he retired from the public service.

12        His grievance was heard only at the final level, by Assistant Deputy Minister Karen Dodds, and was denied by a letter dated August 12, 2013.

III. Summary of the arguments

A. For the PIPSC

13        The PIPSC submitted that a TSM meets the definition of a “retiring allowance” under the Income Tax Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. 1 (5th Supp.)) and that according to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), an employer may provide a retiring allowance in instalments over a number of years, with the amounts paid being taxed in the year in which they are received.

14        Public Works and Government Services Canada issued “Compensation Directive 2006-002: Information Notice to Employees” (“the notice”), which set out questions and answers on retiring allowances. It states as follows: “All other retiring allowances [other than severance pay] may be deferred over a two year [sic] period only …”.

15        On June 15, 2012, Gary Corbett, then-president of the PIPSC, wrote to Assistant Deputy Minister Marc-Arthur Hyppolite, requesting that the Treasury Board approve TSM payments selected under options (b) and (c)(i) to be paid in two instalments.

16        On July 31, 2012, ADM Hyppolite responded, stating that “… it remains that the existing administrative mechanisms and the language currently contained in the existing WFA provisions do not provide an authority to split the payment, save for option c (ii).”

17        Despite ADM Hyppolite’s contention, according to ADM Dodds’ decision on this grievance, at least two departments were permitting option (c)(i) TSMs to be paid in instalments at the time of ADM Hyppolite’s July 31, 2012, correspondence. The employer advised that that practice ceased on August 29, 2012.

18        An employer must exercise its discretion fairly, reasonably, in good faith, and for a business purpose. The employer is required to consider a request on its merits. The WFA’s wording does not restrict the number of instalments in which a TSM can be paid. Therefore, the employer has the discretion to issue the TSM in instalments. Further, option (c)(ii) can clearly be paid in two lump sums. Accordingly, it is certainly possible to pay the TSM in instalments; otherwise, the language of option (c)(ii) would not make sense.

19        Had the parties wanted to restrict the TSM payment to one lump sum, they could have done so explicitly. They did not.

20        Although an instalment option is explicitly referenced in the WFA only with respect to option (c)(ii), this does not preclude instalment payments for the TSM under options (b) and (c)(i). See Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada v. Treasury Board,2011 PSLRB 80 at para. 20, in which the adjudicator noted that the parties to an agreement might simply have thought that clarification was necessary in one section but not in another.

21        The provision providing for Transition Support Measures must be interpreted consistently with the rest of the WFA, including clause 1.1.1, which states that departments are to ensure that affected and surplus employees are treated equitably. The WFA does not restrict the employer’s discretion to pay the TSM in instalments. Therefore, the employer did not act reasonably, fairly, or in good faith by simply denying that it had discretion to pay the TSM in two instalments.

22        The employer has provided no business purpose for its position and for fettering its discretion. There is no known legal barrier to paying the TSM in instalments, yet the employer refuses to even consider the request on its merits.

B. For the employer

23        The employer submits that there has been no violation of the collective agreement and that there is no basis to conclude that one lump-sum payment was unreasonable or that it was made in bad faith.

24        Words should be given their ordinary meaning. Each word should be given some meaning, and dissimilar terms should be given different meanings.

25        Sections 7 and 11.1 of the Financial Administration Act R.S.C., 1985, c. F-11;(FAA) grant the employer broad unlimited power to set general administrative policy, to organize the federal public service, and to determine and control personnel management. Subsection 7(1) grants the employer the exclusive authority on all matters relating to “… human resources management in the federal public administration, including the determination of the terms and conditions of employment of persons employed in it …”.

26        The burden of proof is on the grievor to clearly demonstrate that on a balance of probabilities, the employer contravened the collective agreement. That burden has not been met.

27        An adjudicator can only interpret and apply the express words of a collective agreement; no modification of them is possible. Even if a provision may seem unfair, it cannot be ignored.

28        Option (b) expressly provides that an employee is entitled to a one-time TSM payment. The ordinary meaning of “a” in the context of “a cash payment” is as an indefinite article before a singular noun; therefore, the employee is entitled to a singular cash payment.

29        In the alternative, the WFA is silent on how the TSM is to be paid under option (c)(i). Had the parties wanted to specify two TSM instalments in the agreement, they would have specifically stated so. In the absence of a specific reference to the payment method, the employer is entitled to exercise its management rights under the FAA toissue the TSM in one payment.

30        The only provision in the WFA allowing for more than one instalment of a TSM payment is option (c)(ii), which states that an employee can delay his or her departure date by going on leave without pay for up to two years. Doing so means that employee remains a public service employee, continues as a public service benefit plan member, and continues to contribute to the Public Service Superannuation Plan. The grievor did not choose that plan. He chose option (c)(i), which does not contemplate paying the TSM in instalments. Under that option, the employee resigns, and the TSM is payable immediately. The employment relationship ends.

31        The fact that the CRA allows a retirement allowance to be paid in instalments has no bearing on this case. The CRA allowing it does not obligate the employer to do it. Rather, the employer’s discretionary authority under the FAA prevails.

32        The Board should not rely on the notice. It is not an employer document; it was posted by Public Works and Government Services Canada in 2006, was not incorporated into the collective agreement, and the employer has not agreed to its terms.

33        The fact that the grievor believes that the tax consequences of a one-time TSM payment are unfair is not a reason to ignore long-established management rights.

IV. Reasons for decision

34        After reviewing the relevant collective agreement language, it seems to me that a principle of fairness has been ignored. The employer has agreed, in the collective agreement proper and in the WFA, to treat employees fairly.

35        In this case, an employee retired early as a consequence of being identified as surplus. He then had one opportunity to ensure that the employer handled his severance compensation in the most advantageous manner, within the context of the applicable legislation. It seems to me that an employer, acting fairly and reasonably, would exercise its power to afford an involuntarily exiting employee every advantage available to assist with the involuntary transition to retirement.

36        In contrast to the WFA, clauses 19.06 and 19.07 of the collective agreement regarding severance pay contain specific language with respect to the method of paying severance entitlement.

37         This language specifies that a single payment is to be made but allows for a one-time opportunity to split any accrued entitlement into two portions, while making it very clear that going forward, a single payment will be the only option.

38        However, in the WFA, the language is silent except for option (c)(ii), which specifies the option to pay the TSM in either one or two lump sums. The rest of the clause is simply silent and does not specify a single payment, as the severance pay provisions of article 19 very clearly do.

39        Had the parties wanted to restrict the possibility of two instalments to only option (c)(ii), they could easily have done so, just as they did in article 19 of the collective agreement.

40        I am also cognizant that, in fact, some departments allowed the two-payment scenario. I am of the mind that I need to be fair to the grievor, and I can find no reasonable explanation from the employer of any impediment to the two-payment option, especially when it clearly had been in place for some time, at least in some departments.

41        For all of the above reasons, the Board makes the following order:

V. Order

42        The grievance is allowed.

43        I order the employer to reissue the grievor’s statement of employee earnings to reflect splitting the TSM over two years, as the grievor requested.

April 12, 2017.

Michael F. McNamara,

a panel of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board

Cianciarelli c. Conseil du Trésor (ministère de l’Environnement)



Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique et Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique

Coat of Arms - Armoiries
  • Date:  20170412
  • Dossier:  566-02-8948
  • Référence:  2017 CRTEFP 32

Devant une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique


ENTRE

DOMINIC CIANCIARELLI

fonctionnaire s'estimant lésé

et

CONSEIL DU TRÉSOR
(ministère de l’Environnement)

employeur

Répertorié
Cianciarelli c. Conseil du Trésor (ministère de l’Environnement)


Affaire concernant un grief individuel renvoyé à l’arbitrage


Devant:
Michael F. McNamara, une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique
Pour le fonctionnaire s'estimant lésé:
Sarah Godwin, agente des relations du travail, Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada
Pour l'employeur:
JennaDawn Shervill, stagiaire en droit, et Michel Girard, avocat
Affaire entendue à Ottawa (Ontario),
le 9 septembre 2015.
(Traduction de la CRTEFP)

MOTIFS DE DÉCISION

I. Grief individuel renvoyé à l’arbitrage

1                  Dominic Cianciarelli, le fonctionnaire s’estimant lésé (le « fonctionnaire »), travaillait depuis longtemps à la fonction publique. En 2012, il était classifié au groupe et au niveau ENG-05 et il était au service d’Environnement Canada. Il était membre de l’Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada (IPFPC). Son poste a été déclaré excédentaire en vertu de l’article 64 de la Loi sur l’emploi dans la fonction publique (S.C. 2003, ch. 22, art. 12, 13). À ce titre, il était visé par une entente sur le réaménagement des effectifs (ERE) conclue entre l’IPFPC et le Conseil du Trésor.

2                  Parmi les options disponibles dans le cadre de l’ERE, le fonctionnaire a choisi de prendre sa retraite et de recevoir un paiement forfaitaire, qui constitue une « mesure de soutien à la transition » (MST) conformément à l’ERE. Le fonctionnaire a demandé à l’employeur de répartir sa MST sur deux années civiles afin de réduire les conséquences fiscales. Sa demande a été refusée.

3                  Le 4 mars 2013, le fonctionnaire a présenté un grief, qui a été renvoyé à l’arbitrage devant l’ancienne Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la « CRTFP ») le 28 août 2013.

4        Le 1er novembre 2014, la Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (L.C. 2013, ch. 40, art. 365) a été proclamée en vigueur et a créé la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (la « Commission »), qui remplace l’ancienne CRTFP et le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique. La Commission continue le travail de la CRTFP; en conséquence, la présente décision est rendue par une formation de la Commission.

5                  Cet arbitrage soulève la question suivante : le fonctionnaire a-t-il le droit de recevoir le paiement de sa MST dans le cadre de l’ERE en deux montants forfaitaires répartis sur deux années civiles, comme il l’a demandé?

6                  À mon avis, dans ces circonstances, il a le droit et, par conséquent, le grief est accueilli.

II. Contexte

7                  Les options qui étaient à la disposition du fonctionnaire sont énoncées à la clause 6.3.1 de l’ERE, qui figure à l’annexe G de la convention collective du groupe Architecture, Génie et Arpentage conclue entre l’IPFPC et le Conseil du Trésor (date d’expiration : le 30 septembre 2014; la « convention collective »). Voici les options offertes :

6.3.1  Seul l’employé optant qui ne reçoit pas une garantie d’offre d’emploi raisonnable de son administrateur général aura le choix entre les options suivantes :

  •           a)     
    • (i) une priorité d’employé excédentaire d’une durée de douze (12) mois pour trouver une offre d’emploi raisonnable. Si une offre d’emploi raisonnable n’est pas faite au cours de ces douze (12) mois, l’employé sera mis en disponibilité conformément à la Loi sur l’emploi dans la fonction publique. L’employé qui exerce cette option ou qui est présumé l’exercer est excédentaire.

  • […]

              ou

  •           b) une mesure de soutien à la transition (MST), à savoir un montant forfaitaire versé à l’employé optant. Le montant est calculé selon le nombre d’années de service au sein de la fonction publique (voir l’annexe B). L’employé qui choisit cette option doit démissionner mais il aura droit à une indemnité de départ au taux de mise en disponibilité;

  • ou

  •           c) une indemnité d’études, qui correspond à la MST (voir option b) ci-dessus) plus un montant n’excédant pas dix mille dollars (10 000 $) pour le remboursement des frais de scolarité d’un établissement d’enseignement et les frais de livres et d’équipement requis, appuyés par un reçu.

    L’employé choisissant l’option c) peut :

    • (i) démissionner de l’administration publique centrale et recevoir une indemnité de départ au taux de mise en disponibilité le jour de sa cessation d’emploi;

    • ou

    • (ii) reporter sa mise en disponibilité et prendre un congé sans solde pour une période maximale de deux (2) ans pour effectuer sa formation. La MST est versée en un ou deux paiements forfaitaires sur une période maximale de deux (2) ans. Au cours de cette période l’employé peut continuer à bénéficier des régimes offerts et contribuer sa part et celle de l’employeur aux régimes d’avantages sociaux et du régime de retraite, conformément au Régime de pensions de retraite de la fonction publique. À la fin de la période de deux (2) ans de congé non payé, l’employé est mis en disponibilité conformément à la Loi sur l’emploi dans la fonction publique, sauf s’il a trouvé un autre emploi au sein de l’administration publique centrale.

8                  En résumé, les options figurant aux clauses 6.3.1b) (l’« option b) ») et 6.3.1c)(i) (l’« option c)(i) ») de la convention collective n’abordent pas la question du paiement de la MST en versements. L’option figurant à la clause 6.3.1c)(ii) (l’« option c) (ii) ») de la convention collective comprend expressément une indication que la MST peut être versée en un ou en deux paiements forfaitaires.

9                  Le 5 juin 2012, le fonctionnaire a choisi l’option c)(i).

10        En février 2013, il a demandé que le versement de sa MST soit réparti sur deux années civiles.

11        Le 29 mars 2013, il a pris sa retraite de la fonction publique.

12        Son grief a été entendu seulement au dernier palier par la sous-ministre adjointe Karen Dodds, et il a été rejeté au moyen d’une lettre en date du 12 août 2013.

III. Résumé de l’argumentation

A. Pour l’IPFPC

13        L’IPFPC a fait valoir qu’une MST est visée par la définition d’« allocation de retraite » prévue par la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (L.R.C. (1985), ch. 1 (5e suppl.)) et que, selon l’Agence du revenu du Canada (l’« ARC »), un employeur peut fournir une allocation de retraite en versements sur un certain nombre d’années, les montants payés étant imposés dans l’année où ils sont reçus.

14        La « Directive sur la rémunération 2006-002 : Avis d’information aux employés » (l’« avis ») a été émise par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada et comprend des questions et réponses sur les allocations de retraite. On peut y lire ce qui suit : « Toutes les autres allocations de retraite [à l’exception de l’indemnité de départ] peuvent être différées pour une période de deux ans seulement […] ».

15        Le 15 juin 2012, Gary Corbett, le président de l’IPFPC de l’époque, a écrit au sous-ministre adjoint Marc-Arthur Hyppolite pour lui demander que le Conseil du Trésor approuve le paiement en deux versements des montants relatifs à la MST choisis aux options b) et c)(i).

16        Le 31 juillet 2012, le SMA Hyppolite a répondu en déclarant que [traduction] « […] il demeure que les mécanismes administratifs actuels et le libellé figurant en ce moment dans les dispositions actuelles de l’ERE n’accordent pas le pouvoir de répartir le paiement, sauf pour l’option c)(ii) ».

17        Malgré l’affirmation du SMA Hyppolite, selon la décision de la SMA Dodds sur ce grief, au moins deux ministères permettaient que les MST figurant à l’option c)(i) soient payées en versements au moment de la lettre du SMA Hyppolite du 31 juillet 2012. L’employeur a souligné que cette pratique avait cessé le 29 août 2012.

18        Un employeur doit exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire de façon équitable, raisonnable, de bonne foi et pour un motif opérationnel. L’employeur est tenu d’examiner le bien-fondé d’une demande. Le libellé de l’ERE ne limite pas le nombre de versements qui peut être fait en ce qui concerne le paiement d’une MST. Par conséquent, l’employeur a le pouvoir discrétionnaire de payer la MST en versements. En outre, l’option c)(ii) peut clairement être versée en deux montants forfaitaires. Il est donc certainement possible de payer la MST en versements, sinon le libellé de l’option c)(ii) n’aurait aucun sens.

19        Si les parties avaient souhaité limiter le paiement de la MST à un seul montant forfaitaire, elles l’auraient mentionné explicitement. Elles ont décidé de ne pas le faire.

20        Même si l’option des versements est explicitement mentionnée dans l’ERE uniquement en ce qui concerne l’option c)(ii), cela n’empêche pas les paiements par versements de la MST en vertu des options b) et c)(i). Voir Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada c. Conseil du Trésor, 2011 CRTFP 80, au par. 20, où l’arbitre de grief a souligné que les parties à une entente pouvaient simplement avoir pensé qu’une clarification était nécessaire pour une section et non pour une autre.

21        La disposition sur les mesures de soutien à la transition doit être interprétée conformément au reste de l’ERE, y compris la clause 1.1.1, qui précise qu’il incombe aux ministères de veiller à ce que les employés touchés et excédentaires soient traités équitablement. L’ERE ne limite pas le pouvoir discrétionnaire de l’employeur de payer la MST en versements. Par conséquent, l’employeur n’a pas agi de façon raisonnable, équitable ou de bonne foi en niant qu’il avait un pouvoir discrétionnaire de payer la MST en deux versements.

22        L’employeur n’a fourni aucun motif opérationnel à l’appui de sa position et entravant son pouvoir discrétionnaire. Aucun obstacle juridique connu n’empêche le paiement de la MST en versements, pourtant l’employeur refuse même d’examiner le bien-fondé de la demande.

B. Pour l’employeur

23        L’employeur fait valoir qu’il n’a pas contrevenu à la convention collective et qu’aucun motif ne permet de conclure qu’un paiement forfaitaire unique était déraisonnable ou qu’il a été fait de mauvaise foi.

24        Les mots devraient se voir attribuer leur sens ordinaire. Chaque mot devrait se voir accorder un sens, et les termes différents devraient se voir accorder un sens différent.

25        Les articles 7 et 11.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (L.R.C. 1985, ch. F-11; la « LGFP ») confèrent à l’employeur un vaste pouvoir illimité pour établir les grandes orientations applicables à l’administration publique fédérale, organiser l’administration publique fédérale et déterminer et contrôler la gestion du personnel. Le paragraphe 7(1) accorde à l’employeur le pouvoir exclusif sur toutes les questions liées à « […] la gestion des ressources humaines de l’administration publique fédérale, notamment la détermination des conditions d’emploi […] ».

26        Le fonctionnaire doit s’acquitter du fardeau de la preuve qui lui incombe et clairement démontrer, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que l’employeur a contrevenu à la convention collective. Il ne s’est pas acquitté de ce fardeau.

27        Un arbitre de grief peut uniquement interpréter et appliquer les mots qui figurent explicitement dans une convention collective, il ne peut les modifier. Même si une disposition semble injuste, il ne peut l’ignorer.

28        L’option b) prévoit expressément qu’un employé a droit à un paiement unique de la MST. Le sens ordinaire de « un » dans le contexte d’« un montant forfaitaire » est un article indéfini placé devant un mot singulier; par conséquent, l’employé a droit à un montant forfaitaire unique.

29        Subsidiairement, l’ERE ne mentionne pas comment la MST doit être payée en vertu de l’option c)(i). Si les parties avaient souhaité préciser que deux versements de la MST étaient prévus dans l’entente, elles l’auraient spécifiquement énoncé. En l’absence d’un renvoi spécifique quant à la méthode de paiement, l’employeur peut exercer ses droits de gestion en vertu de la LGFP et verser la MST en un seul paiement.

30        La seule disposition de l’ERE qui permet plus d’un versement du paiement de la MST est l’option c)(ii) qui précise qu’un employé peut reporter sa mise en disponibilité et prendre un congé sans solde pour une période maximale de deux (2) ans. Ainsi, l’employé demeure un fonctionnaire, continue de bénéficier des régimes d’avantages sociaux et il contribue au Régime de pensions de retraite de la fonction publique. Le fonctionnaire n’a pas choisi cette option. Il a choisi l’option c)(i), qui ne prévoit pas le paiement de la MST en versements. Selon cette option, l’employé démissionne et la MST est payable immédiatement. La relation d’emploi prend fin.

31        Le fait que l’ARC permette le paiement d’une allocation de retraite en versements n’a aucune incidence en l’espèce et n’oblige pas l’employeur à le faire. Le pouvoir discrétionnaire de l’employeur prévu par la LGFP l’emporte.

32        La Commission ne devrait pas se fonder sur l’avis. Il ne s’agit pas d’un document de l’employeur. L’avis a été affiché par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada en 2006 et n’a pas été intégré à la convention collective. De plus, l’employeur n’a pas accepté ses modalités.

33        Même si, selon le fonctionnaire, les conséquences fiscales d’un paiement unique de la MST sont injustes, il ne s’agit pas d’une raison d’ignorer les droits de la direction établis depuis longtemps.

IV. Motifs de décision

34        Après avoir examiné le libellé de la convention collective pertinente, il m’apparaît qu’un principe d’équité n’a pas été pris en compte. L’employeur a accepté, dans la convention collective et dans l’ERE, de traiter les employés équitablement.

35        En l’espèce, un employé a pris sa retraite plus tôt parce qu’il a été déclaré excédentaire. Il a alors eu une occasion de veiller à ce que l’employeur traite sa rémunération de départ de la façon la plus avantageuse, dans le contexte des lois applicables. Il me semble qu’un employeur qui agit de façon équitable et raisonnable doit exercer son pouvoir de manière à accorder à un employé qui quitte la fonction publique involontairement tous les avantages disponibles pour favoriser sa transition non volontaire vers la retraite.

36        Contrairement à l’ERE, les clauses 19.06 et 19.07 de la convention collective portant sur l’indemnité de départ contiennent un libellé précis en ce qui concerne la méthode de paiement de l’indemnité de départ.

37        Ce libellé précise qu’un paiement unique doit être versé, mais il permet une possibilité unique de séparer tout droit accumulé en deux parties, tout en précisant qu’à l’avenir, un paiement unique sera la seule option.

38        Toutefois, dans l’ERE, le libellé ne mentionne rien de tel, à l’exception de l’option c)(ii), qui prévoit la possibilité de verser la MST en un ou deux montants forfaitaires. Le reste de la clause n’ajoute rien et ne précise pas le paiement unique, comme les dispositions relatives à l’indemnité de départ de l’article 19 le font clairement.

39        Si les parties avaient souhaité limiter la possibilité de deux versements à la seule option c)(ii), elles auraient facilement pu le faire, comme elles l’ont fait pour l’article 19 de la convention collective.

40        Je suis également au fait que, en réalité, certains ministères permettent le scénario relatif aux deux versements. Je suis d’avis que je dois être équitable envers le fonctionnaire. De plus, l’employeur ne m’a fourni aucune explication raisonnable justifiant le défaut d’accorder l’option des deux versements, particulièrement lorsqu’il ressort clairement que cette option est en place depuis un certain temps, du moins dans certains ministères.

41        Pour ces motifs, la Commission rend l’ordonnance qui suit :

(L’ordonnance apparaît à la page suivante)

V. Ordonnance

42        Le grief est accueilli.

43        J’ordonne à l’employeur d’émettre au fonctionnaire un nouveau relevé des gains qui tiendra compte de la répartition de la MST sur deux ans, comme l’a demandé le fonctionnaire.

Le 12 avril 2017

Traduction de la CRTEFP

Michael F. McNamara,

une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique