Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada v. Canadian Food Inspection Agency



Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board Act and Public Service Labour Relations Act

Coat of Arms - Armoiries
  • Date:  20170421
  • File:  525-32-63
    XR: 125-32-93 and 572-32-306 to 308 and S2
  • Citation:  2017 PSLREB 39

Before a panel of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board


BETWEEN

PROFESSIONAL INSTITUTE OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE OF CANADA

Applicant

and

CANADIAN FOOD INSPECTION AGENCY

Respondent

Indexed as
Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada v. Canadian Food Inspection Agency


In the matter of a request for the Board to exercise any of its powers under section 43 of the Public Service Labour Relations Act


Before:
Chantal Homier-Nehmé, a panel of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board
For the Applicant:
Michael Urminsky, Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
For the Respondent:
Brenda Dagenais, Canadian Food Inspection Agency Decided
Decided on the basis of written submissions
filed May 2 and 26, June 16 and August 12, 2016, March 7, March 16 and 20, 2017.

REASONS FOR DECISION

I. Request before the Board

1        On May 2, 2016, the Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada (“the Institute) brought an application to the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (“the Board”) under s. 43 of the Public Service Labour Relations Act (S.C. 2003, c. 22, s. 2; PSLRA). It requested an amendment of Canadian Food Inspection Agency v. Public Service Alliance of Canada, PSSRB File No. 140-32-14 (19971027), as amended by Canadian Food Inspection Agency v. Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada, PSSRB File No. 125-32-90 (19990420), and further amended by Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada v. Canadian Food Inspection Agency, PSSRB File No. 125-32-93 (19991222). The amendment sought is the inclusion of the occupational group to the description of the Scientific and Analytical bargaining unit (“the bargaining unit”).  The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (“the Agency”) requested that the identification of managerial or confidential positions with regard to the bargaining unit be amended accordingly, as the case may be.

2        As indicated in the Public Service Staff Relations Board’s (PSSRB) December 22, 1999 decision, positions in the classification groups Biological Sciences (BI), Chemistry (CH), and Agriculture (AG) all belong to the Institute’s bargaining unit.

3        At page 2 of its decision dated December 22, 1999, the PSSRB determined the following:

2) The Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada is the bargaining agent for:

b) all the employees of the employer performing duties in positions which are or would be classified in the Agriculture (AG), Biological Sciences (BI) (which includes the former Scientific Regulation (SG) Group), Chemistry (CH), Commerce (CO), Engineering and Land Survey (ELS), Purchasing and Supply (PG), Scientific Research (SE), and Economics, Sociology and Statistics (ES) Groups in the classification system of the Treasury Board.

3) The Public Service Alliance of Canada is the bargaining agent for:

a) all the employees of the employer other than those identified in paragraphs 2(a), (b) and (c) above.

4         On May 26, 2016, the Agency informed the Board that it supported the Institute’s application to add the Regulatory Science (SR) occupational group to the description of the bargaining unit. The Agency explained that the new SR Group, an Agency classification standard, replaces the BI, CH, and AG classification groups previously used at the agency. The SR group was created by the Agency for its own use, as such; it is not “in the classification system of the Treasury Board”. Therefore, it has requested that it be reflected in the description. Even though the SR Group created by the Agency replaces the BI, CH and AG classification groups, the Institute and the Agency agree with maintaining the inclusion of those three groups in the definition of the bargaining unit in the event any positions are created in the years ahead. 

II. Reasons

5        The legislation and Board overseeing the bargaining unit in question has been twice amended and the following statutory provisions allow the Board to make amendments to decisions issued by the PSSRB.

6        On April 1, 2005, the Public Service Labour Relations Act, enacted by section 2 of the Public Service Modernization Act (S.C. 2003, c.22; “PSMA”), was proclaimed into force (SI/2005-22 to24), creating the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB) to replace the PSSRB. On the same day, the consequential and transitional amendments contained in sections 36 to 66 of the PSMA also came into force (SI/2005-24). Pursuant to s. 47 of the PSMA, a decision, order, determination and declaration made by the PSSRB is deemed to have been made by the PSLRB.

7        On November 1, 2014, the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board Act (S.C. 2003, c.40, s.365) was proclaimed into force (SI/2014-84), creating the Board to replace the PSLRB as well as the former Public Service Staffing Tribunal. On the same day, the consequential and transitional amendments contained in sections 366 to 466 of the Economic Action Plan 2013 Act, No. 2 (S.C. 2013, c.40; “EAP 2013 No.2”) also came into force (SI/2014-84). Pursuant to s. 402 of the EAP 2013 No. 2, an order or decision made by the PSLRB is deemed to have been made by the Board.

8        Section 43 of the PSLRA states as follows:

43 (1) Subject to subsection (2), the Board may review, rescind or amend any of its orders or decisions, or may re-hear [sic] any application before making an order in respect of the application.

2) A right that is acquired by virtue of an order or a decision that is reviewed, rescinded or amended by the Board may not be altered or extinguished with effect from a day that is earlier than the day on which the review, rescission or amendment is made.

A. Amendment to Bargaining Unit Description

9        After reviewing the documentation that the parties presented on May 2 and 26, June 16, and August 12, 2016, the Board sent a notice on August 24, 2016, pursuant to the Public Service Labour Relations Regulations (SOR/2005-79; “the Regulations”) to the Public Service Alliance of Canada (“the Alliance”) as a potentially affected party.

10        The Alliance is the bargaining agent for all Agency employees other than thoserepresented by the Institute. If the Board were to grant the Institute’s application, it would mean that the Board would be amending the description of the Alliance’s bargaining unit. The Board gave the Alliance until September 8, 2016, to file an application for intervenor status and to provide its position. On September 15, 2016, the Board’s registry followed up with the Alliance by email and left voice messages. Although the Alliance received the notice, it did not respond.

11        Based on the parties’ submissions, the Board is satisfied that the amendment proposed in the application to amend the bargaining unit is appropriate for collective bargaining. Accordingly, pursuant to s. 43 of the PSLRA, the Board grants the application to amend the PSSRB’s decision of December 22, 1999, insofar as it relates to the determination of the units appropriate for collective bargaining, and it substitutes the following for paragraphs 2(b) and 3(a):

2) The Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada is the bargaining agent for:

b) all the employees of the employer performing duties in positions which are or would be classified under the Agriculture (AG), Biological Sciences (BI) (which includes the former scientific regulation (SG) Group), Chemistry (CH), Commerce (CO), Engineering and Land Survey (ELS), Purchasing and Supply (PG), Scientific and Research (SE), and Economics, Sociology and Statistics (ES) Groups in the classification system of the Treasury Board, as well as the Regulatory Science (SR) Group in the classification system of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.

3) The Public Service Alliance of Canada is the bargaining agent for:

a) all the employees of the employer other than those identified in paragraphs 2(a), (b) and (c) above.

B. Exclusions - Managerial or Confidential Positions

12        In its May 26, 2016 response to the Institute’s application to amend the bargaining unit, the Agency requested amendments to the PSLRB orders dated November 27, 2006 (Board File Nos. 572-32-410 and No. 572-32-S2), and October 25, 2006 (Board File Nos. 572-32-306 to 308 and  S2 and PSSRB order dated August 27, 1987 regarding an AG position (Board File No. 172-02-478) (“the exclusion orders”) to reflect the new Agency classification standard. It requested that the identification of managerial or confidential positions with respect to the bargaining unit be amended accordingly, as the case may be. On June 16, 2016, the Institute consented to this request. However, on March 7, 2017, the Agency specified that there was only one excluded position that would be affected by the creation of the new SR group and the Institute agreed on March 16, 2017. As such, the request only affects the October 25, 2006 exclusion order.

13         Therefore, the exclusion order pertaining to that particular position will be amended accordingly.  

14        For all of the above reasons, the Board makes the following order:

III. Order

15        The definition of the bargaining unit issued in the Board’s December 22, 1999 decision will be amended as follows:

2) The Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada is the bargaining agent for:

b) all the employees of the employer performing duties in positions which are or would be classified under the Agriculture (AG), Biological Sciences (BI) (which includes the former scientific regulation (SG) Group), Chemistry (CH), Commerce (CO), Engineering and Land Survey (ELS), Purchasing and Supply (PG), Scientific and Research (SE), and Economics, Sociology and Statistics (ES) Groups in the classification system of the Treasury Board, as well as the Regulatory Science (SR) Group in the classification system of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.

16        New certificates will be issued for the bargaining unit and the one represented by the Alliance.

17        The annex to the October 25, 2006, order in PSLRB File No. 572-32-306, 572-32-307, 572-32-308 and S2 is amended with respect to position number 26880 from classification CH-05 to classification SR-05.

April 21, 2017.

Chantal Homier-Nehmé,

a panel of the Public Service Labour

Relations and Employment Board

Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada c. Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments

document icon
Résumé


Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique et Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique

Coat of Arms - Armoiries
  • Date:  20170421
  • Dossier:  525-32-63
    XR : 125-32-93 et 572-32-306 à 308 et S2
  • Référence:  2017 CRTEFP 39

Devant une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique


ENTRE

INSTITUT PROFESSIONNEL DE LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE DU CANADA

demandeur

et

AGENCE CANADIENNE D’INSPECTION DES ALIMENTS

défenderesse

Répertorié
Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada c. Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments


Affaire concernant une demande d’exercice par la Commission de l’un ou l’autre des pouvoirs prévus à l’article 43 de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique


Devant:
Chantal Homier-Nehmé, une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique
Pour le demandeur:
Michael Urminsky, Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada
Pour la défenderesse:
Brenda Dagenais, Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments
Décision rendue sur la base d’arguments écrits,
déposés les 2 et 26 mai, le 16 juin et le 12 août 2016, et les 7, 16 et 20 mars 2017.
(Traduction de la CRTEFP)

MOTIFS DE DÉCISION

I. Demande devant la Commission

1        Le 2 mai 2016, l’Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada (l’« Institut ») a déposé une demande devant la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (la « Commission ») en vertu de l’art. 43 de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique (L.C. 2003, ch. 22, art. 2; la « LRTFP »). L’Institut a demandé qu’une modification soit apportée à Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments c. Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada, dossier de la CRTFP 140-32-14 (19971027), telle qu’elle a été modifiée par Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments c. Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada, dossier de la CRTFP 125-32-90 (19990420) et, par la suite, par Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada c. Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments, dossier de la CRTFP 125-32-93 (19991222). En guise de modification, l’Institut demande l’inclusion du groupe professionnel à la description de l’unité de négociation Scientifique et analytique (l’« unité de négociation »). L’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (l’« Agence ») a demandé que la détermination des postes de direction ou de confiance en ce qui concerne l’unité de négociation soit modifiée en conséquence, selon le cas.

2        Tel qu’il a été indiqué dans la décision de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la « CRTFP ») rendue le 22 décembre 1999, les postes des groupes professionnels Sciences biologiques (BI), Chimie (CH) et Agriculture (AG) relèvent tous de l’unité de négociation de l’Institut.

3        À la page 2 de sa décision en date du 22 décembre 1999, la CRTFP a conclu ce qui suit :

2) L’Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada est l’agent négociateur pour :

[…]

b) tous les fonctionnaires de l’employeur exerçant les fonctions de postes qui sont ou qui seraient classifiés dans les groupes Agriculture (AG), Sciences biologiques (BI) (qui inclut l’ancien groupe Réglementation scientifique (SG)), Chimie (CH), Commerce (CO), Génie et arpentage (ELS), Achat et approvisionnement (PG), Recherche scientifique (SE) et Économie, sociologie et statistique (ES) selon le système de classification du Conseil du Trésor.

3) L’Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada est l’agent négociateur pour :

a) tous les fonctionnaires de l’employeur autres que ceux mentionnés aux alinéas 2a) et b) et c) ci-dessus.

4         Le 26 mai, l’Agence a informé la Commission qu’elle appuyait la demande de l’Institut d’ajouter le groupe professionnel Science réglementaire (SR) à la description de l’unité de négociation. L’Agence a expliqué que le nouveau groupe SR, une norme de classification de l’Agence, remplace les groupes professionnels BI, CH et AG, qui étaient antérieurement utilisés à l’Agence. Le groupe SR a été créé par l’Agence à ses propres fins et, par conséquent, il ne figure pas [traduction] « […] dans le système de classification du Conseil du Trésor ». En conséquence, l’Agence demande que la description en tienne compte. Même si le groupe SR créé par l’Agence remplace les groupes professionnels BI, CH et AG, l’Institut et l’Agence conviennent de maintenir l’inclusion de ces trois groupes dans la définition de l’unité de négociation, dans l’éventualité où des postes seraient créés à l’avenir.

II. Motifs

5        Les lois et la Commission qui régissent l’unité de négociation en question ont été modifiées à deux reprises et les dispositions législatives suivantes permettent à la Commission de modifier les décisions rendues par la CRTFP.

6        Le 1er avril 2005, la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique, édictée par l’article 2 de la Loi sur la modernisation de la fonction publique (L.C. 2003, ch. 22; la « LMFP »), a été proclamée en vigueur (TR/2005-22 à 24) et a créé la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (la « CRTFP »), qui a remplacé l’ancienne CRTFP. Le même jour, les modifications corrélatives et transitoires prévues par les articles 36 à 66 de la LMFP sont également entrées en vigueur (TR/2005-24). Conformément à l’art. 47 de la LMFP, une décision, une ordonnance, une détermination ou une déclaration rendue par l’ancienne CRTFP est réputée avoir été prise par la CRTFP.

7        Le 1er novembre 2014, la Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (L.C. 2013, ch. 40, art. 365) a été proclamée en vigueur (TR/2014-84) et a créé la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique,  qui remplace la CRTFP et l’ancien Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique. Le même jour, les modifications corrélatives et transitoires contenues dans les articles 366 à 466 de la Loi no 2 sur le plan d’action économique de 2013 (L.C. 2013, ch. 40; le « PAE 2013 no 2 ») sont aussi entrées en vigueur (TR/2014-84). Conformément à l’art. 402 du PAE 2013 no 2, une ordonnance ou une décision rendue par la CRTFP est réputé avoir été prise par la Commission.

8        L’article 43 de la LRTFP prévoit ce qui suit :

43. (1) La Commission peut réexaminer, annuler ou modifier ses décisions ou ordonnances ou réentendre toute demande avant de rendre une ordonnance à son sujet.

2) Dans un tel cas, les droits acquis par suite d’une de ces décisions ou ordonnances ne peuvent être modifiés ou abolis qu’à compter de la date du réexamen, de l’annulation ou de la modification de la décision ou de l’ordonnance.

A. Modification à la description de l’unité de négociation

9        Après avoir examiné les documents présentés par les parties les 2 et 26 mai, le 16 juin et le 12 août 2016, la Commission a envoyé un avis le 24 août 2016, conformément au Règlement sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique (DORS/2005-79; le « Règlement ») à l’Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada (l’« Alliance ») à titre de partie pouvant être touchée.

10        L’Alliance est l’agent négociateur de tous les employés de l’Agence, autre que ceux représentés par l’Institut. Si la Commission accède à la demande de l’Institut, cela signifierait que la Commission modifie la description de l’unité de négociation de l’Alliance. La Commission a donné à l’Alliance jusqu’au 8 septembre 2016 pour déposer une demande de statut d’intervenant et présenter sa position. Le 15 septembre 2016, le greffe de la Commission a fait un suivi auprès de l’Alliance par courriel et lui a laissé des messages vocaux. Bien que l’Alliance ait reçu l’avis, elle n’y a pas répondu.

11        Selon les arguments des parties, la Commission est convaincue que la modification proposée dans la demande visant à modifier l’unité de négociation est appropriée aux fins de la négociation collective. Par conséquent, conformément à l’art. 43 de la LRTFP, la Commission accueille la demande visant à modifier la décision de la CRTFP en date du 22 décembre 1999, dans la mesure où elle se rapporte à la détermination des unités appropriées aux fins de la négociation collective, et elle remplace les alinéas 2b) et 3a) par ce qui suit :

2) L’Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada est l’agent négociateur de :

b) tous les fonctionnaires de l’employeur exerçant les fonctions de postes qui sont ou qui seraient classifiés dans les groupes Agriculture (AG), Sciences biologiques (BI) (qui inclut l’ancien groupe Réglementation scientifique (SG)), Chimie (CH), Commerce (CO), Génie et arpentage (ELS), Achat et approvisionnement (PG), Recherche scientifique (SE) et Économie, sociologie et statistique (ES) selon le système de classification du Conseil du Trésor, ainsi que dans le groupe Science réglementaire (SR), selon le système de classification de l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments.

3) L’Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada est l’agent négociateur pour :

a) tous les fonctionnaires de l’employeur autres que ceux mentionnés aux alinéas 2a) et b) et c) ci-dessus.

B. Exclusions – Postes de direction ou de confiance

12        Dans sa réponse du 26 mai 2016 à la demande de l’Institut visant à modifier l’unité de négociation, l’Agence a demandé que des modifications soient apportées aux ordonnances de la CRTFP en date du 27 novembre 2006 (dossiers de la CRTFP 572-32-410 et 572-32-S2) et du 25 octobre 2006 (dossiers de la CRTFP 572-32-306 à 308 et S2) et à l’ordonnance de l’ancienne CRTFP en date du 27 août 1987 concernant un poste AG (dossier de la CRTFP 172-02-478) (les « ordonnances d’exclusion ») afin de tenir compte de la nouvelle norme de classification de l’Agence. L’Agence a demandé que la détermination des postes de direction ou de confiance relativement à l’unité de négociation soit modifiée en conséquence, selon le cas. Le 16 juin 2016, l’Institut a consenti à cette demande. Toutefois, le 7 mars 2017, l’Agence a précisé qu’il n’y avait qu’un seul poste exclu qui serait touché par la création du nouveau groupe SR et l’Institut en a convenu le 16 mars 2017. Par conséquent, la demande ne touche que l’ordonnance d’exclusion rendue le 25 octobre 2006.

13         Par conséquent, le décret d’exclusion ayant trait à ce poste particulier sera modifié en conséquence.

14        Pour ces motifs, la Commission rend l’ordonnance qui suit :

III. Ordonnance

15        La définition de l’unité de négociation établie dans la décision de la Commission du 22 décembre 1999 sera modifiée comme suit :

2) L’Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada est l’agent négociateur de :

b) tous les fonctionnaires de l’employeur exerçant les fonctions de postes qui sont ou qui seraient classifiés dans les groupes Agriculture (AG), Sciences biologiques (BI) (qui inclut l’ancien groupe Réglementation scientifique (SG)), Chimie (CH), Commerce (CO), Génie et arpentage (ELS), Achat et approvisionnement (PG), Recherche scientifique (SE) et Économie, sociologie et statistique (ES) selon le système de classification du Conseil du Trésor, ainsi que dans le groupe Science réglementaire (SR), selon le système de classification de l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments.

16        De nouveaux certificats seront émis à l’unité de négociation, ainsi qu’à l’unité de négociation représentée par l’Alliance.

17        L’annexe figurant à l’ordonnance du 25 octobre 2006, rendue dans les dossiers de la CRTFP 572-32-306, 572-32-307, 572-32-308 et S2, est modifiée en ce qui concerne le poste 26880, passant de la classification CH-05 à la classification SR-05.

Le 21 avril 2017.

Traduction de la CRTEFP

Chantal Homier-Nehmé,

une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique