Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada v. Treasury Board



Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board Act and Public Service Labour Relations Act

Coat of Arms - Armoiries
  • Date:  20170424
  • File:  567-02-59
  • Citation:  2017 PSLREB 41

Before a panel of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board


BETWEEN

PROFESSIONAL INSTITUTE OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE OF CANADA

Bargaining Agent

and

TREASURY BOARD

Employer

Indexed as
Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada v. Treasury Board


In the matter of a group grievance referred to adjudication


Before:
Chantal Homier-Nehmé, a panel of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board
For the Bargaining Agent:
Valérie Charette, Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada
For the Employer:
Geneviève Ruel, counsel
Decided on the basis of written submissions,
filed April 5, 15, and 24, 2016.
(PSLREB Translation)

REASONS FOR DECISION

Group grievance referred to adjudication

1        On May 15, 2009, the Professional Institute of the Public Service of Canada (“the institute”) filed a group grievance on behalf of the following 17 nurses (“the grievors”): France Duquet, Geneviève Jourdain, Carolyn Paradis, Micheline Desilets, Micheline Bériau, Julie Ferland, Gaston Bélanger, Nathalie Debruyne, M. A. Guillemette, Pascal Laverdure, Michel Brunet, Suzanne Germain Sergerie, François Pitre, Gino Daigneault, Louise Gingras, Thérèse Bugeaud, and Hélène Landry, who work in the regional hospital at Archambault Institution (“the regional hospital”), which is in turn part of the correctional complex at Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines, Quebec. The institute seeks the payment of the penological factor allowance (“the allowance”) at the maximum rate set out in article 44 of the collective agreement between the institute and the Treasury Board of Canada (“the employer”) for the Health Services bargaining unit, which expired on September 30, 2007 (“the collective agreement”).

2        The institute referred the group grievance to adjudication on April 19, 2011.

3        The employer objected to the jurisdiction of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (“the Board”) to hear the grievance. It claimed that contrary to what is set out in s. 215 of the Public Service Labour Relations Act (S.C. 2003, c. 22, s. 2; PSLRA), the true nature of the grievance does not deal with interpreting or applying the collective agreement but instead with the security classification attributed to Archambault Institution by the commissioner of the Correctional Service of Canada (“the commissioner”) under the Corrections and Conditional Release Act (S.C. 1992, c. 20; CCRA) and related directives.

4        On November 1, 2014, the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board Act (S.C. 2013, c. 40, s. 365) was proclaimed into force (SI/2014-84), creating the Board to replace the former Public Service Labour Relations Board as well as the former Public Service Staffing Tribunal. On the same day, the consequential and transitional amendments contained in ss. 366 to 466 of the Economic Action Plan 2013 Act, No. 2 (S.C. 2013, c. 40) also came into force (SI/2014-84).Pursuant to s. 393 of the Economic Action Plan 2013 Act, No. 2, a proceeding commenced under the PSLRA before November 1, 2014, is to be taken up and continue under and in conformity with the PSLRA as it is amended by ss. 365 to 470 of the Economic Action Plan 2013 Act, No. 2.

5        For the following reasons, I find that the Board does not have the jurisdiction to deal with the grievance. Its substance is the security classification attributed to Archambault Institution under the commissioner’s exclusive legislative jurisdiction.

Background

6        “Commissioner’s Directive 706” (“the Directive”), which according to the parties the Commissioner adopted under the authority conferred on him by s. 98 of the CCRA, states that Archambault Institution is a medium-security institution. It was once a maximum-security institution. In 1991, the Directive converted it to a medium-security institution due to operational needs determined by the growing medium-security correctional population.

7        According to the Directive, the regional deputy commissioner must annually review institutions’ security classifications so that they correspond to the profile of the region’s correctional population. Despite the many arguments the institute has made since at least 2005 and the reviews that several deputy commissioners have conducted, Archambault Institution’s security classification has never been increased.

8        The issue of the medium-security classification applicable to the regional hospital is unique to Quebec. All the other regional hospitals of the Correctional Service of Canada (“the Service”) in the other provinces are in maximum-security institutions.

Summary of the evidence

9        The parties agreed to submit an agreed statement of facts. All exhibits were filed with consent. In this decision, I will report only the facts relevant to the resolution of the issue before me.

10        The correctional complex at Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines includes three institutions: Archambault Institution, the Regional Mental Health Centre, and Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines Institution.

11        Archambault Institution is classified medium security. It has a regional role, as it is responsible for the regional hospital. Thus, the regional hospital is part of Archambault Institution. As an alternative to hospitalization, the regional hospital has 11 room-cells in which inmates from Archambault Institution and from all other institutions in the province are treated who are convalescing or who have chronic illnesses. The cases treated there are complex and cannot be treated at other institutions.

12        Although the Regional Mental Health Centre is also located within Archambault Institution’s walls, it is a completely independent institution. The Directive classifies it as a multi-level security institution. It has its own nursing staff and is the mental health treatment centre for inmates from all types of institutions in the province of Quebec.

13        When the grievance was filed, and then for some time, the grievors were also responsible for providing physical care to inmates at the Regional Mental Health Centre. However, nursing staff at the Regional Mental Health Centre provided some basic care. The grievors still handle urgent medical cases at the Regional Mental Health Centre and provide certain treatments, including among others large dressings and certain injections.

14        The Regional Reception Centre, which is completely independent of Archambault Institution and the Regional Mental Health Centre, is not part of the Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines complex, even though it is located there. It assesses inmates and dispatches them to the different institutions in the province, based on their security classifications. The Regional Reception Centre is classified maximum security. When inmates require health care that cannot be provided by nursing staff at the Regional Reception Centre, they are sent to the regional hospital to be treated by the grievors.

15        When inmates from other institutions, including the Regional Mental Health Centre, must be treated at the regional hospital, a risk assessment is conducted. All inmates with a medium- or maximum-security classification are escorted to their cells by two correctional officers, who must be present at all times when the cell door is open and when the grievors provide care. Sometimes, correctional officers are not available, which can delay the care to be provided to the inmates.

16        For several months, on occasion, the regional hospital took in inmates from the Regional Mental Health Centre’s acute care unit on weekends when it was crowded. The acute care unit houses inmates who are difficult to manage, particularly those in restraints and those who receive court-ordered injections.

17        Of the regional hospital’s 11 room-cells, 3 are used to house inmates from the Regional Mental Health Centre’s acute care unit, of which two have cameras that are used, for example, in post-suspension cases or for inmates who present a suicide risk. The third can be used as a segregation cell.

18        The allowance is administered and applied based on guidelines issued by the employer entitled, “[translation] Administering and applying the penological factor allowance and offender supervision allowance”. The guidelines serve to facilitate interpreting and applying the different provisions that govern the allowance and the offender supervision allowance in the different collective agreements.

19        Since the grievance was filed, the grievors have received the allowance at the medium rate, equivalent to $1000 per month, as set out in clause 44.03 of the collective agreement. They seek to receive it at the maximum rate, as they must provide medical care to inmates with multiple security classification levels.

Summary of the arguments

20        The employer maintains that the grievance is not based on interpreting or applying the collective agreement but instead on Archambault Institution’s security classification. The CCRA gives the commissioner exclusive authority to establish the security classifications of the Service’s institutions. The Directive classifies Archambault Institution as medium security. The grievors receive the allowance based on that classification, as set out in article 44 of the collective agreement.

21        The institute argues that the grievance is based on interpreting and applying the collective agreement as the grievors claim a change to the Directive to “[translation] clarify the application of the collective agreement to achieve an application that respects the intent of that clause.” The grievors do not receive the allowance at the rate that represents the risk incurred, despite the unchallenged fact that they provide care to a clientele with multi-level security classifications. Archambault Institution’s security classification, which is determined arbitrarily by the commissioner, and the lack of a separate security classification for the regional hospital jeopardize the application of the collective agreement. The Board has jurisdiction to order the employer to take the necessary steps to allow for the payment of the allowance based on the facts presented in evidence and in accordance with the parties’ intent as clearly expressed in article 44 of the collective agreement.

Reasons

22        I must first determine if the grievance is about interpreting or applying article 44 of the collective agreement, as required under ss. 215 and 216 of the PSLRA.The Board’s jurisdiction over group grievances is set out as follows in ss. 215 and 216:

Group Grievances

Presentation

215 (1) The bargaining agent for a bargaining unit may present to the employer a group grievance on behalf of employees in the bargaining unit who feel aggrieved by the interpretation or application, common in respect of those employees, of a provision of a collective agreement or an arbitral award.

(2) In order to present the grievance, the bargaining agent must first obtain the consent of each of the employees concerned in the form provided for by the regulations.The consent of an employee is valid only in respect of the particular group grievance for which it is obtained.

(3) The group grievance must relate to employees in a single portion of the federal public administration.

Reference to adjudication

216The bargaining agent may refer to adjudication any group grievance that has been presented up to and including the final level in the grievance process and that has not been dealt with to its satisfaction.

23        The institute’s characterization of the grievance is insufficient to give the Board jurisdiction. Sections 215 and 216 of the PSLRA require that the true nature of the grievance be about an issue of interpreting or applying a collective agreement.

24        The employer referred me to a certain number of decisions in which adjudicators determined that they did not have jurisdiction to hear grievances before them as they did not meet the criteria set out in the PSLRA. In all those cases, the adjudicators ruled that the substance of a grievance must be determined by examining it as a whole, meaning that the desired outcome must also be considered.

25        Despite the institute’s submissions, I cannot conclude that the grievors accuse the employer of incorrectly applying the collective agreement and of not complying with article 44 of the collective agreement. Truly being disputed is the commissioner’s decision to classify Archambault Institution as medium security, a level that does not represent the reality of the work the grievors perform, and the lack of a separate security classification for the regional hospital.

26        I agree with the employer that the grievance deals essentially with the grievors’ dissatisfaction that the regional hospital is not classified as a separate multi-level security facility. As the institute itself expressed when filing the grievance, the desired outcome is a change to the Directive in that sense and, as such, the payment of the allowance at the maximum level.

27        Clause 44.03 of the collective agreement clearly indicates that the level of payment of the allowance is determined based on an institution’s security classification, as determined by the commissioner. The parties agree that ss. 97 and 98 of the CCRA give the commissioner exclusive authority to issue directives to establish rules with respect to managing the Service and over issues of executing its mandate and any other measure of applying Part I of the CCRA and its regulations. Although I share the institute and the grievors’ point of view that the regional hospital should be classified as a multi-level security facility, nonetheless, it remains that the Board does not have jurisdiction to hear a grievance that deals essentially with interpreting or applying the Directive.

28        Based on that conclusion, there is no need for me to address the parties’ other arguments.

29        For all of the above reasons, the Board makes the following order:

Order

30        The employer’s objection to the Board’s jurisdiction is allowed.

31        I order the file closed.

April 24, 2017.

PSLREB Translation

Chantal Homier-Nehmé,
a panel of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board

Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada c. Conseil du Trésor



Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique et Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique

Coat of Arms - Armoiries
  • Date:  20170424
  • Dossier:  567-02-59
  • Référence:  2017 CRTEFP 41

Devant une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique


ENTRE

INSTITUT PROFESSIONNEL DE LA FONCTION PUBLIQUE DU CANADA

agent négociateur

et

CONSEIL DU TRÉSOR

employeur

Répertorié
Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada c. Conseil du Trésor


Affaire concernant un grief collectif renvoyé à l'arbitrage


Devant:
Chantal Homier-Nehmé, une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans la fonction publique
Pour l'agent négociateur:
Valérie Charette, Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada
Pour l'employeur:
Geneviève Ruel, avocate
Décision rendue sur la base d'arguments écrits
déposés les 5, 15 et 24 avril 2016.

MOTIFS DE DÉCISION

Grief collectif renvoyé à l'arbitrage

1        Le 15 mai 2009, l’Institut professionnel de la fonction publique du Canada (l’ « Institut ») a présenté un grief collectif au nom des 17 infirmiers et infirmières qui suivent  (les « fonctionnaires s’estimant lésés »): France Duquet, Geneviève Jourdain, Carolyn Paradis, Micheline Desilets, Micheline Bériau, Julie Ferland, Gaston Bélanger, Nathalie Debruyne, M.A. Guillemette, Pascal Laverdure, Michel Brunet, Suzanne Germain Sergerie, François Pitre, Gino Daigneault, Louise Gingras, Thérèse Bugeaud et Hélène Landry, qui travaillent à l’hôpital régional de l’Établissement Archambault (l’« hôpital régional »), qui est lui-même situé dans le complexe correctionnel à Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines, au Québec. L’Institut revendique le paiement de l’indemnité de facteur pénologique (l’« indemnité ») au taux maximal prévu à l’article 44 de la convention collective conclue entre l’Institut et le Conseil du Trésor du Canada (l’« employeur») pour l’unité de négociation du groupe Services de santé, dont la date d’expiration est le 30 septembre 2007 (la « convention collective »).

2        L’Institut a renvoyé le grief collectif à l’arbitrage le 19 avril 2011.

3        L’employeur s’est opposé à la compétence de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (la « Commission ») pour entendre le grief. Il soutient que, contrairement à ce que prescrit l’article 215 de Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique (L.C. 2003, ch. 22, art. 2; LRTFP), le caractère véritable du grief ne porte pas sur l’interprétation ou l’application de la convention collective, mais plutôt sur la classification de sécurité attribuée à l’Établissement Archambault par le commissaire du Service correctionnel du Canada (le « commissaire » en vertu de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition (L.C. 1992, ch. 20; LSCMLSC)et des directives afférentes.

4        Le 1er novembre 2014, la Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans la fonction publique (L.C. 2013, ch. 40, art. 365) a été proclamée en vigueur (TR/2014-84) et a créé la Commission, qui remplace la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique et le Tribunal de la dotation de la fonction publique.  Le même jour, les modifications corrélatives et transitoires édictées par les articles 366 à 466 de la Loi no 2 sur le plan d'action économique de 2013 (L.C. 2013, ch. 40) sont aussi entrées en vigueur (TR/2014-84).  En vertu de l'article 393 de la Loi no 2 sur le plan d'action économique de 2013, une instance engagée au titre de la LRTFP avant le 1er novembre 2014 se poursuit sans autres formalités en conformité avec la LRTFP, dans sa forme modifiée par les articles 365 à 470 de la Loi no 2 sur le plan d'action économique de 2013.

5        Pour les motifs suivants, je conclus que la Commission n’a pas compétence pour statuer sur le grief. L’essence du grief porte sur la classification de sécurité attribuée à l’Établissement Archambault selon la compétence législative et exclusive du commissaire.

Contexte

6        La Directive du commissaire 706 (la « Directive ») que, selon les parties, le commissaire a adoptée en vertu du pouvoir que lui confère l’article 98 de la LSCMLSC, prévoit que l’Établissement Archambault est un établissement à sécurité moyenne. Auparavant, l’Établissement Archambault était un établissement à sécurité maximale. En 1991, il a été converti par la Directive en établissement à sécurité moyenne en raison des besoins opérationnels déterminés par la population carcérale moyenne grandissante. 

7        Selon la Directive, la classification de sécurité des établissements doit être revue annuellement par le sous-commissaire de la région afin de correspondre  au profil de la population carcérale de la région. Malgré les multiples arguments présentés par l’Institut depuis au moins 2005 et les revues faites par les différents sous-commissaires, la classification de sécurité de l’Établissement Archambault n’a jamais été modifiée à la hausse.

8        Quant à elle, la question de la classification de sécurité moyenne applicable à l’hôpital régional ne vise que la province de Québec. Tous les autres hôpitaux régionaux du Service correctionnel du Canada (le « Service ») dans les autres provinces se trouvent dans des établissements à sécurité maximale.

Résumé de la preuve

9        Les parties se sont entendues pour présenter un exposé conjoint des faits. Toutes les pièces ont été déposées de consentement. Je ne rapporte dans cette décision que les faits pertinents à la résolution du litige devant moi.

10        Le complexe correctionnel qui se situe à Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines regroupe trois établissements : l’Établissement Archambault, le Centre régional de santé mentale et l’Établissement Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines.

11        L’Établissement Archambault a une classification de sécurité moyenne. Il joue un rôle régional, puisqu’il est responsable de l’hôpital régional. L’hôpital régional fait donc partie de l’Établissement Archambault. L’hôpital régional compte 11 chambres-cellules où sont traités, en plus des détenus de l’Établissement Archambault, des détenus provenant de tous les autres établissements de la province, en alternative à une hospitalisation, qui sont en convalescence, ou qui ont des maladies chroniques. Les cas qui y sont traités sont des cas de nature complexe qui ne peuvent être traités dans d’autres établissements.

12        Quant à lui, bien que le Centre régional de santé mentale soit aussi situé dans les murs de l’Établissement Archambault, il est un établissement complètement indépendant de ce dernier. Il est classifié par la Directive comme étant un établissement à niveaux de sécurité multiples. Il possède son propre personnel infirmier et représente le centre de traitement en santé mentale pour les détenus provenant de tous les types d’établissements de la province de Québec.

13        Au moment du dépôt du grief, et pendant une certaine période, les fonctionnaires s’estimant lésés étaient aussi responsables de prodiguer des soins physiques aux détenus du Centre régional de santé mentale. Certains soins de bases étaient toutefois prodigués par le personnel infirmier du Centre régional de santé mentale. À ce jour, les fonctionnaires s’estimant lésés traitent les cas d’urgence médicale du Centre régional de santé mentale et effectuent certains traitements dont, entre autres, les gros pansements et certaines injections.

14        Le Centre régional de réception, qui est complètement indépendant de l’Établissement Archambault et du Centre régional de santé mentale, ne fait pas partie du complexe correctionnel de Sainte-Anne-des-Plaines, bien qu’il y soit situé. Il évalue les détenus, et les envoie dans les différents établissements de la province selon leur classification de sécurité. La classification de sécurité du Centre régional de réception est maximale. Lorsque des détenus nécessitent des soins de santé qui ne peuvent être prodigués par le personnel infirmier du Centre régional de réception, ceux-ci sont envoyés à l’hôpital régional pour être traités par les fonctionnaires s’estimant lésés.

15        Lorsque les détenus en provenance d’autres établissements, incluant le Centre régional de santé mentale, doivent être traités à l’hôpital régional, une évaluation de leurs risques est effectuée. Tous les détenus ayant une classification de sécurité moyenne ou maximale sont escortés dans leur cellule par deux agents correctionnels, qui doivent être présents en tout temps lorsque la porte de la cellule est ouverte et que des soins sont prodigués par les fonctionnaires s’estimant lésés. La non-disponibilité occasionnelle des agents correctionnels peut parfois retarder les soins qui doivent être prodigués aux détenus.

16        Depuis plusieurs mois, et de façon occasionnelle, l’hôpital régional accueille des détenus de l’unité de soins aigus du Centre régional de santé mentale pendant la fin de semaine lorsque ce dernier est bondé. L’unité de soins aigus héberge des détenus difficiles à gérer, notamment ceux qui sont mis sous contentions et ceux qui reçoivent des injections sur ordonnance d’un tribunal.

17        Parmi les 11 chambres-cellules de l’hôpital régional, trois servent à héberger les détenus de l’unité de soins aigus du Centre régional de santé mentale. Deux d’entre elles sont des cellules avec caméras qui servent, par exemple, dans les cas de post-suspension ou pour des détenus qui présentent des risques de suicide. La troisième cellule est une cellule qui peut servir de cellule d’isolement.

18        L’administration et l’application de l’indemnité se fait suivant les lignes directrices émises par l’employeur intitulées « L’administration et l’application de l’indemnité de facteur pénologique et de l’indemnité de surveillance des détenus ». Les lignes directrices visent à faciliter l’interprétation et l’application des différents articles régissant l’indemnité et l’indemnité de surveillance des détenus contenus dans les différentes conventions collectives.

19        Depuis le dépôt du grief, les fonctionnaires s’estimant lésés reçoivent tous l’indemnité au taux moyen, équivalant à 1 000 $ par mois, tel que prévu dans la clause 44.03 de la convention collective. Ils revendiquent l’indemnité au taux maximal, puisqu’ils doivent prodiguer des soins médicaux à des détenus qui ont des classifications de sécurité de niveaux multiples.

Résumé de l’argumentation

20        L’employeur soutient que le grief ne repose pas sur l’interprétation ou l’application de la convention collective, mais plutôt sur la classification de sécurité de l’Établissement Archambault. La LSCMLSC confère au commissaire le pouvoir exclusif d’établir les classifications de sécurité des établissements du Service. La Directive classifie l’Établissement Archambault comme un établissement à sécurité moyenne. Les fonctionnaires s’estimant lésés reçoivent l’indemnité en fonction de cette classification, comme précisé dans l’article 44 de la convention collective.

21        L’Institut prétend que le grief porte sur l’interprétation et l’application de la convention collective, puisque les fonctionnaires s’estimant lésés revendiquent la modification de la Directive dans le but de : « clarifier l’application de la convention collective afin d’en arriver à une application qui soit respectueuse de l’intention de cette clause ». Les fonctionnaires s’estimant lésés ne reçoivent pas l’indemnité au taux représentant le risque encouru, malgré le fait incontesté qu’ils prodiguent des soins à une clientèle ayant des classifications de sécurité de niveaux multiples. La classification de sécurité de l’Établissement Archambault, fixée arbitrairement par le commissaire, et l’absence de classification de sécurité distincte de l’hôpital régional mettent en péril l’application de la convention collective. La Commission a compétence pour ordonner à l’employeur de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour permettre le paiement de l’indemnité basée sur les faits déposés en preuve et qui respecte l’intention des parties clairement exprimée à l’article 44 de la convention collective.

Motifs

22        Je dois d’abord déterminer si le grief porte sur l’interprétation ou l’application de l’article 44 de la convention collective, tel que requis par les articles 215 et 216 de la LRTFP. La compétence de la Commission en ce qui concerne un grief collectif est prévue ainsi aux articles 215 et 216 de la LRTFP :

Griefs collectifs

Présentation

215 (1) L’agent négociateur d’une unité de négociation peut présenter un grief collectif à l’employeur au nom des fonctionnaires de cette unité qui s’estiment lésés par la même interprétation ou application à leur égard de toute disposition d’une convention collective ou d’une décision arbitrale.

 (2) La présentation du grief collectif est subordonnée à l’obtention au préalable par l’agent négociateur du consentement — en la forme prévue par les règlements — de chacun des intéressés. Le consentement ne vaut qu’à l’égard du grief en question.

 (3) Le grief collectif ne peut concerner que les fonctionnaires d’un même secteur de l’administration publique fédérale.

[…]

Renvoi à l’arbitrage

216 Après l’avoir porté jusqu’au dernier palier de la procédure applicable sans avoir obtenu satisfaction, l’agent négociateur peut renvoyer le grief collectif à l’arbitrage.

23        La caractérisation du grief par l’Institut ne suffit pas à donner compétence à la Commission. Les articles 215 et 216 de la LRTFP exigent que le caractère véritable du grief porte sur une question d’interprétation ou d’application de la convention collective.

24        L’employeur m’a renvoyée à un certain nombre de décisions dans lesquelles des arbitres de griefs ont déterminé qu’ils n’avaient pas compétence pour entendre les griefs devant eux, puisque ceux-ci ne satisfaisaient pas aux critères de la LRTFP. Dans tous les cas, les arbitres de griefs ont statué que l’essence du grief doit être déterminé en examinant le grief dans son ensemble, ce qui signifie qu’il faut également tenir compte du but recherché.

25        Malgré les représentations de l’Institut, je ne peux conclure que les fonctionnaires s’estimant lésés reprochent à l’employeur d’avoir mal appliqué la convention collective et de ne pas s’être conformé à l’article 44 de la convention collective. Ce qui est vraiment reproché est la décision du commissaire de classifier l’Établissement Archambault à un niveau de sécurité moyen, un niveau qui ne représente pas la réalité du travail effectué par les fonctionnaires s’estimant lésés, et l’absence de classification de sécurité distincte de l’hôpital régional.

26        Je suis d’accord avec l’employeur pour dire que le grief porte essentiellement sur l’insatisfaction des fonctionnaires s’estimant lésés quant au fait que l’hôpital régional ne soit pas classifié comme un établissement distinct à niveaux de sécurité multiples. Tel qu’exprimé par l’Institut lui-même lors du dépôt du grief, le but recherché est la modification de la Directive à cet égard et, par conséquent, le paiement de indemnité au taux maximal. 

27        La clause 44.03 de la convention collective indique clairement que le taux de paiement de l’indemnité est déterminé en fonction de la classification de sécurité de l’établissement, telle que déterminée par le commissaire. Les parties s’entendent pour dire que les articles 97 et 98 de la LSCMLSC confèrent au commissaire le pouvoir exclusif d’émettre des directives établissant des règles concernant la gestion du Service, les questions visant l’exécution de son mandat et toute autre mesure d’application de la Partie I de la LSCMLC et de ses règlements. Bien que je partage le point de vue de l’Institut et des fonctionnaires s’estimant lésés à l’effet que l’hôpital régional devrait être classifié comme un établissement distinct à niveaux de sécurité multiples, il n’en demeure pas moins que la Commission n’a pas compétence pour entendre un grief qui porte essentiellement sur l’interprétation ou l’application de la Directive.  

28        Suivant cette conclusion, il est inutile de me pencher sur les autres arguments des parties.

29        Pour ces motifs, la Commission rend l’ordonnance qui suit :

Ordonnance

30        L’objection de l’employeur concernant la compétence de la Commission est accueillie.

31        J’ordonne la fermeture du dossier.

Le 24 avril 2017.

Chantal Homier-Nehmé,
une formation de la Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans la fonction publique