Catherine Ebbs

Chairperson

The Governor in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, has appointed Catherine Ebbs as the new and first Chairperson of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (PSLREB), effective October 9, 2014.

Catherine Ebbs has been Chairperson of the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board since October 9, 2014. Prior to that she was Chair of the Public Service Labour Relations Board. From 2003 to 2013, Ms. Ebbs worked at the Royal Canadian Mounted Police External Review Committee where she served as legal counsel, acting Executive Director, and then as Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer. Prior to that, she was a member of the Parole Board of Canada, where for ten years, she served as the Vice-Chairperson in charge of its Appeals Division.

Ms. Ebbs is a former Chair of the Heads of Federal Administrative Tribunals Forum. She holds a Master of Laws from Osgoode Law School, a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Ottawa, and a Bachelor of Arts from Carleton University.

Catherine Ebbs

Présidente

Sur recommandation de la ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles, le gouverneur en conseil a nommé Catherine Ebbs à titre de nouvelle et première présidente de la Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP). La nomination de Mme Ebbs a pris effet le 9 octobre 2014.

Catherine Ebbs est présidente de la Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique depuis le 9 octobre 2014. Avant cette date, elle était présidente de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique. De 2003 à 2013, Mme Ebbs a travaillé pour le Comité externe d’examen de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada à titre d’avocate, de directrice exécutive intérimaire, puis de présidente et première dirigeante. Auparavant, elle était commissaire à la Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada, où, durant 10 ans, elle a servi en tant que vice-présidente responsable de la division des appels.

Mme Ebbs a déjà été présidente du Forum pour les présidents des tribunaux administratifs fédéraux. Elle détient une maîtrise en droit de la Osgoode Law School, un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université d’Ottawa et un baccalauréat ès arts de l’université Carleton.