Chantal Homier-Nehmé

Board Member

Fluent in both English and French, Ms. Homier-Nehmé has devoted her legal career to matters related to labour and employment law. Having represented not only unions and employees, she has represented employers and has appeared before various administrative tribunals, as well as the Federal Court and Provincial Court of Ontario.

Ms. Homier-Nehmé articled at a reputable Ottawa based full service law firm where she developed her passion for labour law. Prior to working for the Public Service Alliance of Canada (PSAC), Ms. Homier-Nehmé worked as a practising lawyer at a boutique law firm which focused on labour, employment and human rights law. Ms. Homier-Nehmé has held numerous positions at the PSAC, where she most recently served as Legal Counsel to the Collective Bargaining Branch. As a grievance and adjudication officer, she has represented the PSAC and its members before federal and provincial tribunals. She has experience in dispute resolution, labour relations and human rights law. As a Senior Human Resources Advisor and Legal Counsel to PSAC, she has represented the PSAC as an employer in private sector arbitrations and before the Ontario Labour Relations Board.

Prior to earning her Bachelor of Laws degree National Program (LL.L – LL.B) from the University of Ottawa, she completed a Bachelor’s degree in Social Sciences with a concentration in Political Science. Ms. Homier-Nehmé also holds a Masters of Law in Labour Relations and Employment Law (LL.M) from Osgoode Hall and is a member in good standing with the Law Society of Upper Canada.

Chantal Homier-Nehmé

Commissaire à temps plein

Mme Homier-Nehmé parle couramment l’anglais et le français et a consacré sa carrière juridique aux questions de droit du travail et de l’emploi. Elle a non seulement représenté des syndicats et des employés, mais aussi des employeurs, et elle a plaidé devant divers tribunaux administratifs, de même que devant la Cour fédérale et les cours provinciales de l’Ontario.

Mme Homier-Nehmé a fait son stage en droit dans un cabinet d’avocats d’Ottawa offrant une gamme complète de services juridiques et ayant une bonne réputation, où elle a développé sa passion pour le droit du travail. Avant de travailler pour l’Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada (AFPC), Mme Homier-Nehmé a travaillé en tant qu’avocate dans un petit cabinet d’avocats qui se concentrait sur le droit du travail et de l’emploi et les droits de la personne. Mme Homier-Nehmé a occupé de nombreux postes à l’AFPC, dont le plus récent était celui de conseillère juridique au sein de la Division de la négociation collective. À titre d’agente aux griefs et à l’arbitrage des griefs, elle a représenté l’AFPC et ses membres devant des tribunaux fédéraux et provinciaux. Elle possède de l’expérience en résolution de conflits, en relations de travail et en droits de la personne. À titre de conseillère principale en ressources humaines et conseillère juridique à l’AFPC, elle a représenté l’AFPC à titre d’employeur dans le cadre d’arbitrages dans le secteur privé et devant le Commission des relations de travail de l’Ontario.

Avant d’obtenir son baccalauréat en droit dans le cadre du Programme national (LL.L – LL.B) de l’Université d’Ottawa, elle a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences sociales avec spécialisation en sciences politiques. Mme Homier-Nehmé détient aussi une maîtrise en droit, plus précisément en relations de travail et droit du travail (LL.M) de Osgoode Hall et est membre en règle du Barreau du Haut Canada.