David Paul Olsen

Vice-Chairperson

David Olsen joins the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (PSLREB) as a Vice-Chairperson, bringing to the PSLREB more than 35 years of experience in the areas of labour, employment and human rights law. Most recently, he was a Vice-Chairperson with the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB).

Mr. Olsen began his public service career in 1974 as counsel for the Department of Justice, specializing in labour law and civil litigation. In 1981, Mr. Olsen established a labour, employment and human rights law practice group to service what was then the newly created Canada Post Corporation. Mr. Olsen held progressively senior positions within Canada Post, including Assistant General Counsel, in which he had national responsibility for the corporation's legal practice. Prior to joining the PSLRB, Mr. Olsen had been a full-time member with the Canada Industrial Relations Board.

Mr. Olsen holds a Masters of Law from McGill University, a Bachelor of Law from Queens University and a Bachelor of Arts from Carleton University. A long-standing member of the Law Society of Upper Canada, he was a part-time professor of labour law at the Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa, and he is an occasional lecturer for continuing education seminars and conferences on labour, employment and human rights law, as well as pay equity.

David Paul Olsen

Vice-président

David Olsen se joint à la Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP) à titre de vice-président. Il apporte avec lui plus de 35 années d'expérience dans le domaine du droit du travail, de l'emploi et des droits de la personne. Tout récemment, il était membre à temps plein de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP).

M. Olsen a commencé sa carrière dans la fonction publique en 1974 en tant que conseiller juridique au ministère de la Justice où il se spécialisait en droit du travail et en contentieux des affaires civiles. En 1981, il a mis sur pied un groupe de pratique du droit du travail, de l'emploi et des droits de la personne afin de servir ce qui était alors la nouvelle Société canadienne des postes. Progressivement, M. Olsen a occupé des postes de plus en plus importants au sein de la Société, notamment celui d'avocat général adjoint où il a assumé la responsabilité des affaires juridiques à l'échelle nationale. Avant de se joindre à la CRTFP, M. Olsen était membre à temps plein du Conseil canadien des relations industrielles.

M. Olsen est titulaire d'une maîtrise en droit de l'Université McGill, d'un baccalauréat en droit de l'Université Queens et d'un baccalauréat ès arts de l'Université Carleton. Membre de longue date du Barreau du Haut-Canada, M. Olsen a été professeur de droit du travail, à temps partiel, à la Faculté de droit de l'Université d'Ottawa, et il agit parfois à titre de conférencier lors de séminaires pour l'éducation permanente et lors de conférences ayant trait au droit du travail, de l'emploi et de la personne ainsi qu'à la parité salariale.