Margaret Shannon

Vice-Chairperson

Margaret Shannon brings to the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (PSLREB) extensive experience in the fields of labour relations, both within Canada and internationally, as well as employment law and human resources. Most recently, she was a full-time member with the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB).

She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Saint Thomas University in New Brunswick, a Bachelor of Laws from the University of New Brunswick, a Canadian Management Professional Designation and a diploma in Health Services Management. Her professional affiliations include memberships in the Canadian Bar Association, the Law Society of New Brunswick, the Canadian Management Professionals Association and the Institute of Professional Management.

Prior to joining the PSLRB, Ms. Shannon was Special Advisor, Strategic Business Integration and previously Director of Collective Bargaining, Interpretation and Recourse with the Canada Revenue Agency. She had previously worked at the Canadian Forces Personnel and Family Support Services, specializing in labour, employment and industrial relations law. Prior to joining the federal public service she was a practicing lawyer in the private and provincial government sectors.

Margaret Shannon

Vice-présidente

Margaret Shannon apporte à la Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP) sa vaste expérience dans le domaine des relations de travail acquise au Canada et sur la scène internationale, ainsi que dans les domaines du droit du travail et des ressources humaines. Tout récemment, elle était membre à temps plein de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP).

Elle est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès arts de l'Université Saint Thomas au Nouveau-Brunswick, d'un baccalauréat en droit de l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, d'un titre professionnel de la Canadian Management Professionals Association et d'un diplôme en gestion des services de santé. Elle est notamment membre de l'Association du Barreau canadien, du Barreau du Nouveau Brunswick, de la Canadian Management Professionals Association et de l'Institute of Professional Management.

Avant de se joindre à la CRTFP, Mme Shannon travaillait à l'Agence du revenu du Canada en tant que directrice, Division des négociations collectives, de l'interprétation et des recours, et ensuite comme conseillère spéciale, Direction de l'intégration stratégique des affaires. Avant de travailler pour l'Agence, elle était à l'emploi des Services de soutien au personnel et aux familles des Forces canadiennes, où elle s'est spécialisée en droit du travail, de l'emploi et des relations industrielles. Avant de joindre les rangs de la fonction publique, elle pratiquait le droit en tant qu'avocate dans le secteur privé et pour les gouvernements provinciaux.