Stephan J. Bertrand

Board Member

Stephan J. Bertrand is a graduate of the University of Ottawa where he received a Bachelor of Arts degree and went on to complete his law degree. Called to the Ontario Bar in 1992, Mr. Bertrand is a member in good standing of the Law Society of Upper Canada.

Following his career in private practice, where he specialized in litigation in the areas of employment, commercial and bankruptcy law, Mr. Bertrand joined the Department of Justice in 2000 where he conducted litigation in disability law and employment and labour law before various boards and tribunals, and at all levels of the courts on behalf of the Government of Canada. For the past 10 years, Mr. Bertrand has worked as legal counsel for Treasury Board and for Human Resources and Skills Development Canada.

A seasoned speaker on topics such as disability law and expert testimony, he has served as a litigation mentor and trainer for new lawyers and articling students in the public and private sectors. He also taught civil procedure, administrative law and mediation for the Ontario Bar Admission program from 1998 to 2008.

Prior to joining the Public Service Labour Relations and Employment Board (PSLREB), Mr. Bertrand was a full-time member of the Public Service Labour Relations Board (PSLRB).

Stephan J. Bertrand

Commissaire à temps plein

Stephan J. Bertrand est un diplômé de l'Université d'Ottawa, qui lui a décerné un baccalauréat ès arts, puis un diplôme en droit. Reçu au Barreau de l'Ontario en 1992, M. Bertrand est membre en règle du Barreau du Haut-Canada.

Après avoir fait carrière dans le secteur privé, où il s'est spécialisé dans le secteur des litiges en droit de l'emploi, en droit commercial et en droit de la faillite, M. Bertrand s'est joint au ministère de la Justice en 2000. Il s'occupait alors de litiges en droit des personnes handicapées et en droit de l'emploi et du travail devant différentes commissions et divers tribunaux administratifs, ainsi qu'à tous les niveaux des tribunaux judiciaires, au nom du gouvernement du Canada. Au cours des 10 dernières années, M. Bertrand a travaillé comme conseiller juridique pour le Conseil du Trésor et Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada.

Conférencier chevronné sur des sujets comme le droit des personnes handicapées et les témoignages de spécialistes, il a été mentor et formateur dans le domaine des litiges pour les nouveaux avocats et les stagiaires en droit dans les secteurs public et privé. Il a également enseigné la procédure civile, le droit administratif et la médiation au programme d'admission au Barreau de l'Ontario de 1998 à 2008.

Avant de se joindre à la Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP), M. Bertrand était commissaire à temps plein de la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique (CRTFP).