Introduction

The Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (FPSLREB) is responsible for administering the collective bargaining process in the federal public service and in Parliament.

Section 103 of the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act identifies the process for the resolution of disputes arising from collective bargaining to be conciliation. Conciliation is a non-binding process that can lead to employees having the right to strike under certain prescribed conditions, and is therefore often referred to as the "conciliation/strike route."

Section 104 identifies two situations under which arbitration may be substituted. Section 104(1) allows the employer and the bargaining agent, by agreement in writing, to choose arbitration as the process for the resolution of the dispute. It is to be noted that in the case of a separate agency, any such agreement requires the approval of the President of the Treasury Board.

Section 104(2) allows for arbitration to be substituted as the dispute resolution process if, on the day on which notice to bargain collectively may be given, 80% or more of the positions in the bargaining unit have been designated under section 120, in whole or in part, as providing an essential service.

Arbitration culminates in an arbitral award (a decision) that is legally binding on both parties and precludes subsequent strike action.

Regardless of the method by which a collective bargaining dispute will eventually be dealt with, the employer or the bargaining agent may request third-party assistance from the FPSLREB to help their negotiations move forward. Such requests may be made under the provisions of section 108 of the Act.

Under the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act, binding arbitration is the only method available to parliamentary employees for resolving collective bargaining disputes.

The Dispute Resolution Services (DRS) provide the focal point for the administrative services that facilitate the resolution of bargaining disputes. The DRS receive and process most of the various forms and applications required in the establishment of arbitration boards and public interest commissions.

The FPSLREB provides information on the status of negotiations. You can search for current information by employer, bargaining agent, and bargaining unit.

See the fact sheet on collective bargaining for more detailed information.

Introduction

La Commission des relations de travail et de l'emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP) est responsable de l'administration du régime de négociation collective dans la fonction publique fédérale et au Parlement.

L'article 103 de la Loi sur la Commission des relations de travail dans la fonction publique précise que le mode de règlement des différends découlant de la négociation collective est la conciliation. La conciliation est un processus non exécutoire qui accorde aux employés le droit de déclencher une grève sous réserve de certaines conditions; c'est pourquoi elle est souvent appelée la « voie de la conciliation/grève ».

L'article 104 prévoit deux situations où l'arbitrage peut remplacer la conciliation. Le paragraphe 104(1) permet à l'employeur et à l'agent négociateur de convenir, par écrit, de choisir l'arbitrage comme mode de règlement des différends. Il convient de noter que, dans le cas d'un organisme distinct, une telle entente nécessite l'agrément du président du Conseil du Trésor.

Le paragraphe 104(2) permet de remplacer la conciliation par l'arbitrage en tant que mode de règlement des différends si, à la date à laquelle l'avis de négocier collectivement peut être donné, au moins 80 % des postes au sein de l'unité de négociation ont été désignés en vertu de l'article 120, en tout ou en partie, comme fournissant un service essentiel.

L'arbitrage mène à une décision arbitrale (une décision) qui est exécutoire sur le plan juridique pour les deux parties et qui écarte la possibilité d'une grève ultérieure.

Peu importe le mode de règlement éventuel d'un différend de négociation collective, l'employeur ou l'agent négociateur peut demander l'aide d'un tiers à la CRTEFP pour faciliter le déroulement des négociations. De telles demandes peuvent être présentées en vertu de l'article 108 de la Loi.

En vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement, l'arbitrage exécutoire est le seul mode de règlement des différends auquel les employés du Parlement ont accès pour régler les différends découlant de la négociation collective.

L'équipe des Services de règlement des conflits (SRC) agit à titre de point central pour faciliter l'administration des services visant la résolution de litiges en lien avec la négociation collective. Les SRC reçoivent et traitent la plupart des formulaires et applications nécessaires à l'établissement des conseils d'arbitrage et des commissions de l'intérêt public.

La CRTEFP offre des renseignements sur l'état des négociations. Vous pouvez trouver des renseignements à jour par employeur, agent négociateur et unité de négociation.

Consultez la fiche d'information sur la négociation collective pour obtenir des renseignements plus détaillés.