Fact Sheet on Collective Bargaining

The Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board (FPSLREB) is responsible for the administration of the collective bargaining process within the federal public service covered by the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act (FPSLRA) and the Parliamentary Employment and Staff Relations Act (PESRA).

Overview of Collective Bargaining

Approximately 200,000 employees in 100 bargaining units are covered by the collective bargaining and other provisions of the FPSLRA. The FPSLRA identifies the process for the resolution of disputes arising from collective bargaining to be conciliation. Conciliation is a non-binding process that can lead to employees having the right to strike under certain prescribed conditions, and is therefore often referred to as the "conciliation/strike route."

Section 104 identifies two conditions under which arbitration may be substituted.  Section 104(1) allows the employer and the bargaining agent, by agreement in writing, to choose arbitration as the process for the resolution of the dispute. It is to be noted that in the case of a separate agency, any such agreement requires the approval of the President of the Treasury Board.

Section 104(2) allows for arbitration to be substituted as the dispute resolution process if, on the day on which notice to bargain collectively may be given, 80% or more of the positions in the bargaining unit have been designated under section 120, in whole or in part, as providing an essential service.

Arbitration culminates in an arbitral award (a decision) that is legally binding on both parties and precludes subsequent strike action.

The PESRA provides for binding arbitration as the only method available for the resolution of collective bargaining disputes for parliamentary employees; there is, therefore, no right to strike.

When Mediation May Be Involved

Regardless of whether conciliation applies or arbitration is available under those conditions identified above, the parties may reach a point in their face-to-face negotiations where it is increasingly difficult to make progress. At this stage, either party may request the services of a mediator. The Chairperson of the FPSLREB may at any time, if requested to do so, or on his or her own initiative, appoint a mediator to confer with the parties to a dispute and to endeavor to assist them in settling the dispute.

Public Interest Commission

Should the involvement of a mediator not bring about a settlement and where the method of dispute resolution is “conciliation", a Public Interest Commission (PIC) may be appointed by the Minister on the recommendation of the FPSLREB Chairperson. A PIC may be composed of a single person or a panel of three persons. It should be noted that two members of a PIC are selected by the respective parties and they then try to agree on the selection of the third member to serve as chairperson.  Once established, the PIC will be given the list of issues in dispute upon which it will endeavor to assist the parties to a dispute in entering into or revising a collective agreement. In most cases, the parties will have reached agreement on a number of provisions before conciliation is requested.

In conducting proceedings and preparing its report, a PIC is to be guided by and to give preponderance to recruitment and retention of competent persons and secondly, the country’s fiscal circumstances relative to its stated budgetary policies. If relevant to making a determination in respect of these elements, the PIC may also take into account other factors such as internal public service salary relativities, compensation comparability with similar occupations in the private and public service, consideration of qualifications, responsibilities and services rendered, and finally the state of the Canadian economy. 

The PIC must submit its recommendations to the Chairperson of the FPSLREB within 30 days after it was established, or within any longer period that may be agreed upon by the parties or determined by the Chairperson so that the report may be made public. The PIC must set out in its report the reasons for each of its recommendations.

In the event that the recommendations from the PIC do not bring about a settlement, the FPSLRA requires that before a strike may be called, a vote by secret ballot be held among all of the employees in the bargaining unit. All employees in the bargaining unit will have the right to vote and must be given reasonable opportunity to participate in the vote. The bargaining agent may authorize or declare a strike only within the 60-day period following the vote, provided that it has received the majority support of voters.

Arbitration Boards

As mentioned above, when the conditions set out in the Act are met, arbitration boards are established in much the same manner as PIC's, except that they are established by the Chairperson of the FPSLREB.  At the outset of the process, the Chairperson of the FPSLREB must give the arbitration board a notice referring the matters in dispute to arbitration.  In most cases, the parties will have reached agreement on a number of provisions before arbitration takes place.

In conducting proceedings and rendering its award, an arbitration board is to be guided by and to give preponderance to recruitment and retention of competent persons and secondly, the country’s fiscal circumstances relative to its stated budgetary policies. If relevant to making a determination in respect of these elements, the arbitration board may also take into account other factors such as internal public service salary relativities, compensation comparability with similar occupations in the private and public service, consideration of qualifications, responsibilities and services rendered, and finally the state of the Canadian economy.  An arbitral award is binding on the parties and forms a supplement to the collective agreement.

The arbitration board must make an arbitral award as soon as feasible and set out in the award the reasons for its decision in respect of each of the matters in dispute.

Services Provided to the Yukon

In addition, under an agreement with the Yukon government, the FPSLREB administers the collective bargaining systems under Yukon's Education Labour Relations Act and Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act. When performing these functions funded by the Yukon government, the FPSLREB acts respectively as the Yukon Teachers Labour Relations Board and the Yukon Public Service Labour Relations Board.

Fiche d'information sur la négociation collective

La Commission des relations de travail et de l’emploi dans la fonction publique (CRTEFP) est responsable de l’administration du régime de négociation collective dans la fonction publique visé par la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique (LRTFP) et la Loi sur les relations de travail au Parlement (LRTP).

Aperçu de la négociation collective

Environ 200 000 fonctionnaires répartis dans 100 unités de négociation sont régis par les dispositions de la LRTFP portant notamment sur la négociation collective. La LRTFP précise que le mode de règlement des différends soulevés dans le cadre de négociations collectives est la conciliation. La conciliation est un processus non exécutoire qui accorde aux employés le droit de déclencher une grève sous réserve de certaines conditions; c’est pourquoi elle est souvent appelée la « voie de la conciliation/grève ».

L’article 104 prévoit deux situations où l’arbitrage peut remplacer la conciliation. Le paragraphe 104(1) permet à l’employeur et à l’agent négociateur de convenir, par écrit, de choisir l’arbitrage comme mode de règlement des différends. Il convient de noter que, dans le cas d’un organisme distinct, une telle entente nécessite l’agrément du président du Conseil du Trésor.

Le paragraphe 104(2) permet de remplacer la conciliation par l’arbitrage en tant que mode de règlement des différends si, à la date à laquelle l’avis de négocier collectivement peut être donné, au moins 80 % des postes au sein de l’unité de négociation ont été désignés en vertu de l’article 120, en tout ou en partie, comme fournissant un service essentiel.

L’arbitrage aboutit à une décision arbitrale (une décision) qui est exécutoire sur le plan juridique pour les deux parties et qui écarte la possibilité d’une grève ultérieure.

La LRTFP prévoit un seul mode de règlement des différends dans le cadre de la négociation collective pour les employés du Parlement, à savoir l’arbitrage exécutoire; les employés n’ont donc pas le droit de grève.

Quand la médiation peut être une option

Même si la conciliation peut s’appliquer ou si l’arbitrage est possible en raison des conditions mentionnées ci-dessus, les parties peuvent arriver à un point des négociations directes où il devient de plus en plus difficile de progresser. À cette étape, l’une ou l’autre des parties peut demander les services d’un médiateur. Le président de la CRTEFP peut, en tout temps, sur demande ou de sa propre initiative, nommer un médiateur dans le but de conférer avec les parties à un différend et de les aider à régler leur différend.

Les commissions de l'intérêt public

Si, malgré l’aide du médiateur, les parties ne peuvent pas s’entendre et le mode de règlement est la « conciliation », le ministre peut établir une commission de l’intérêt public (CIP) sur recommandation du président de la CRTEFP. Une CIP peut être composée d’une seule personne ou d’un groupe de trois personnes. Il convient de noter que deux membres de la CIP sont sélectionnés par chacune des parties. Les parties tentent ensuite de s’entendre sur la sélection d’un troisième membre qui présidera la CIP. Une fois établie, la CIP recevra une liste des questions en litige. Elle se servira de cette liste pour aider les parties à un différend à conclure une convention collective ou la revoir. Dans la plupart des cas, les parties se seront entendues sur un certain nombre de dispositions avant de demander une conciliation.

Dans le cadre de ses procédures et lorsqu’elle prépare son rapport, la CIP doit être guidée par le recrutement et la rétention de personnes compétentes, et y accorder priorité. De plus, la CIP doit tenir compte du contexte fiscal du pays en lien avec les politiques budgétaires établies. Si cela est pertinent afin de rendre une décision quant à ces éléments, la CIP peut prendre en compte d’autres facteurs tels la relativité salariale de la fonction publique, la comparaison de la rémunération à celle de postes semblables dans le secteur privé et la fonction publique, la prise en compte des qualifications, des responsabilités et des services rendus et, finalement, l’état de l’économie canadienne.

La CIP doit soumettre ses recommandations au président de la CRTEFP dans les 30 jours après sa mise sur pied ou à l’intérieur de toute période plus longue convenue par les parties ou établie par le président pour que le rapport soit rendu public. La CIP doit justifier dans son rapport chacune de ses recommandations.

Si les recommandations de la CIP ne permettent pas d’en arriver à un règlement, la LRTFP prévoit, avant qu’une grève puisse être déclenchée, la tenue d’un vote de grève secret parmi l’ensemble des employés de l’unité de négociation. Tous les employés d’une unité de négociation ont le droit de voter et doivent avoir une occasion raisonnable de le faire. L’agent négociateur peut seulement autoriser ou déclarer une grève dans la période de 60 jours suivant le vote, advenant qu’il ait reçu l’appui de la majorité des personnes ayant voté.

Les conseils d'arbitrage

Tel qu’il a été mentionné ci-dessus, lorsque les modalités prévues par la Loi sont remplies, les conseils d’arbitrage sont établis d’une manière semblable aux CIP, sauf qu’ils sont créés par le président de la CRTEFP. Dès le début du processus, le président de la CRTEFP doit envoyer au conseil d’arbitrage un avis l’informant des affaires renvoyées à l’arbitrage. Dans la plupart des cas, les parties se seront entendues sur un certain nombre de dispositions avant de recourir à l’arbitrage.

Dans le cadre des procédures et lorsqu’il rend sa décision, un conseil d’arbitrage doit tenir compte du recrutement et de la rétention des personnes compétentes, et y accorder priorité. De plus, il doit tenir compte du contexte fiscal du pays en lien avec les politiques budgétaires établies. Si cela est pertinent afin de rendre une décision quant à ces éléments, le conseil d'arbitrage peut prendre en compte d’autres facteurs tels la relativité salariale de la fonction publique, la comparaison de la rémunération à celle de postes semblables dans le secteur privé et la fonction publique, la prise en compte des qualifications, les responsabilités et les services rendus et, finalement, l’état de l’économie canadienne. Une décision arbitrale lie les parties et constitue un complément à la convention collective.

Le conseil arbitrage doit rendre une décision arbitrale dès que possible et y indiquer les motifs de sa décision pour chaque question en litige.

Services offerts au gouvernement du Yukon

De plus, aux termes d’une entente avec le gouvernement du Yukon, la CRTEFP administre les systèmes de négociation collective régis par la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur de l’éducation du Yukon et la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique du Yukon. Lorsqu’elle s’acquitte de ces fonctions subventionnées par le gouvernement du Yukon, la Commission agit respectivement à titre de Commission des relations de travail du personnel enseignant du Yukon et de Commission des relations de travail de la fonction publique du Yukon.